Blackened Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Very simple and very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Love, love, love this! Just made it yesterday and used it on fresh ahi tuna and fresh salmon. Perfect heat - but make sure to add your own amount of salt as this is a salt-free mix. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This recipe it really helped me! I, too usually cook salt free but in this case salt was good. I modified it as follows: First of all, I don't actually "blacken". Burning food is toxic and carcinogenic. Don't do it! Use "Trader Joe's South African Smoke" for the basil (that will give you that smokiness), "Slap Yo Mama" **HOT** Cajun seasoning (make sure you use the hot version!) for the salt, black pepper, red pepper, and onion powder, add extra dried onions, and add enough water and olive oil to make a rub, and use a fresh clove of garlic not dried garlic powder. Use other ingredients in the recipe (oregano, thyme, paprika). You should have a nice, thick paste for a rub, but not so thick that you can't spread it well. And then rub it on some fresh tilapia– And cook just enough don't blacken– Use a little extra water in the pan so nothing dries out. Don't use full flame, and use a cover while cooking. When it's done there shouldn't be much water left but it shouldn't be at all dry or brown much less burnt. And that's going to be spicy and tasting good! O btw the way I didn't measure anything-I just kept adding the stuff until it looked and smelled right and I rubbed up that fish with the good flava' before cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I love to have this on my salmon fillets. I melt a little butter and spread it on the salmon. Sprinkle a little seasoning salt, then sprinkle the blackened seasoning. Bake at 375 for 15-17 mins depending on the size of the fillets. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This worked very well on a flank steak that I grilled for a steak salad. I cut the cayenne pepper in half and I wish I wouldn't have. I was afraid it would be too spicy for me, but next time I'll use the full amount. Thanks for sharing this recipe, DJBPITT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
turned out very nice. I used this to make blackened fish tacos, I've also used it for blackened shrimp salad, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jobanana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Easy to make, never goes wrong. Most importantly, the kids love it. Important: add salt to taste. Works really well on tilapia blackened in a cast iron skillet. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Tried this on salmon tonight, lacked any flavor or spice. No way would I try this again. When I want a blackened season I want some spice and flavor this had nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig Ruchalski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Tried it this way first time then I tweaked it a little. If you do the same amount of pepper but half blackvand half white, than double the salt so it's a 2-1 ratio(2 teaspoons salt, 1/2 teaspoon black pepper, 1/2 teaspoon white pepper) you have a very flavorful true to style blackening seasoning. Very good on pork, steaks, chicken and mild fish like grouper, trout and tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brett Glanders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States