Blackened Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Easy to make, never goes wrong. Most importantly, the kids love it. Important: add salt to taste. Works really well on tilapia blackened in a cast iron skillet. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Tried this on salmon tonight, lacked any flavor or spice. No way would I try this again. When I want a blackened season I want some spice and flavor this had nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig Ruchalski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Tried it this way first time then I tweaked it a little. If you do the same amount of pepper but half blackvand half white, than double the salt so it's a 2-1 ratio(2 teaspoons salt, 1/2 teaspoon black pepper, 1/2 teaspoon white pepper) you have a very flavorful true to style blackening seasoning. Very good on pork, steaks, chicken and mild fish like grouper, trout and tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brett Glanders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Great, however I placed the seasoning in an iron skillet put it on the grill and heated it until it was blackening then threw green beans raw on it. Oh, it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This is a great blend. I just figured out that I have been wasting a lot of money buying blends. This taught me that I can google anything and get the details of most any blend out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Yep! It's good all right, and just what I was looking for! I have mixed up a batch to keep on hand. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
It's okay.... needs salt for sure. Wasn't super flavorful like one that we made previously. Add salt and it's much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I usually omit salt from recipes anyways, but love that salt wasn't even on the list. I did not have onion powder, but thought it turned out great anyways. The recipe made more than I needed (put it in a sirloin stir fry), so I had extra to use for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Exactly what I was looking for! I've been using Zatarain's Blackened Seasoning. The problem is I like "spicy" so I sprinkle on a generous amount and then it's too salty. Wish they would come out with a reduced sodium version. Until then I'll be using this recipe since I have all the spices available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Very good blend. Love that it is no salt added so I can adjust how I want. I use "Redfish magic" on one side of the fish fillets and this on the other for blackened flavor that's not overwhelmed by salt. Just add a tsp. of sugar for better caramelization. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States