Blackened Salmon Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Walking down the isle of my wonderful market, the meat counter just set out this beautiful wild caught salmon. Having a wife and daughter that don't care for fish, I put them behind me, and snagged a nice little fillet for myself!! Having the last two salmon recipes go south on me, river caught, I just couldn't help the fresh pink color of this (and I plan on complimenting the store) stock just made me try it. I dashed home and started supper and the anxiety of "how to" came over me with everything else coming up to done. SO, I looked this recipe up and of dozens, liked the look and sound of this one. Well, it did NOT disappoint!! What a wonderful delicious way to prepare this salmon. I just can't say how much I liked it and the best part is, the wife and daughter sat next trying to take bites!!!!! They liked the crispy ends! I would say follow this recipe to the nail, it's extra tasty as it is although I didn't have oregano. I'm going to try preparing the same way only nuggets to try and have the fam tricked and I'm sure they'll like it. I got an it's ok from them, but kept reaching over for a bite:) that's fine with me!!!! Guys!! Don't miss this simple and more than great recipe!!!! Truth be known, it's good on albacore as well lol. ENJOY everybite!!! 5 stars from me, delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This recipe is a favorite for me. I add a little Worcestershire sauce on each side during cooking. Tried olive oil, but love my land o lakes butter much better. I did have to decrease the cayenne pepper on my first try to 1 Tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I tried this recipe last night and loved it...although spicier than I'm use to it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
One of the better salmon recipes especially for someone that isnt a big fan of fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Excellent, I only used about 1t of cayenne but otherwise followed the recipe. I will up the cayenne in the future. great flavors. Super easy. Cast iron pan, very hot 2-3 minutes per side depending on the thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This is absolutely delicious! Just a note of advice from making this recipe multiple times... be careful about how thick you put the seasoning on. I couldn't figure out why it was so spicy. I personally like my fish spicy, but the hubby can't handle much. After adjusting the cayenne and peppers multiple times I finally figured out it was how thick I was putting on the seasoning. so just a note that made a HUGE outcome in my experience with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bek's Bakery
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This is a good recipe, but I definitely agree to cut the cayenne in half. I cut the salt in half too. Blackening seasoning is VERY spicy, so it is best to cook it outside (in a cast iron skillet of course) on the side burner of your grill if you have one. Otherwise, you and everyone else in your house will be sneezing and coughing up a storm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
We LOVE spicy so this was good to us but would probably be too spicy for the average joe. I thought that the proportions of spices were a bit off - too much paprika and not enough other spices. Next time I will probably try the spices from a blackened chicken recipe I found on here instead. Overall a decent meal though. Also, I only used some olive oil instead of butter as per other reviewers suggestions because we are trying to cut calories and it wasn't smokey at all while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Nickerson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
it was easy, only drawback, the smoke from it gave us a major coughing fit. but the taste was superb. we did it in a cast iron skillet. this was the first blackened anything I have ever had, may have to try something else soon! also, there is enough of this mix to use a second time on something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Cox Richey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Hubby Loved this!!! Made mine with olive oil instead of butter like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Balsamic-Glazed Salmon Fillets

Salmon fillets baked with a balsamic vinegar, Dijon, and white wine glaze.

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

Ideal pairing of salmon with butter sauce, dill and lemon.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States