Blackened Salmon Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I just made it and it will be THE recipe I use when I want to cook salmon (except when I make glazed salmon). The only things I did different was omit the cayenne pepper, and replace the 1/2 tsp of white pepper with black pepper (making it a total of 1 tsp of black pepper) EDIT: BTW even with omitting the cayenne pepper, it is still pretty hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Wow! Yummy!!! I made this with just two pieces of salmon. I mixed up the spices and put it in a ziplock. I only used one tablespoons for two pieces. Just did it shake and bake style without the butter. I put a little butter in the pan while cooking it. I kept moving it around and around quickly as not to burn it. This was soooo good. I will make it again soon as I have enough left over spice to do at least two more times. It was spicy, but not too bad for me. My husband likes things spicy, so I ate the smaller piece of salmon. I made this with Oven Roasted asparagus from all recipes and garlic bread. So fast and very little clean up on a busy week day. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Wowsa! I love "blackened" food and this was right on the money. I was only making 2 servings so halved everything except the thyme, basil and oregano. Even though I like things spicy I went easy on the cayenne. I didn't find it necessary to do the extra butter drizzle on the fish after it had already been brushed with butter and coated with seasoning. Used a well used and loved cast iron pan that I got sceamin'smokin' hot and didn't oil the pan at all. Put the fish in and didn't touch it until I turned it. Fish didn't stick at all. Sure, had to shut off the smoke detector lol, but a smokey house was totally worth these amazing flavors. Served with roasted sweet potatoes and a salad with lots of bell peppers and a very lemony vinaigrette, both of which went perfectly with the fish. One of the best meals I've made in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I made this for my boyfriend who loves salmon. I was worried it may be too hot so I halved everything. Looked and smelled amazing while cooking but oh my god was it SPICY. Definitely worth making again but will put even less spice next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Stevenson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Great. It was very easy and fast to make on a week night. A little too spicy for me but I still gave it 5 stars because I can change the spices to suit my taste. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I have made this once a week for the last month, I love this recipe! Not all the kids do but I do and so they can eat fish sticks instead. I pair it with rice and coleslaw. Dredging the fish in a bit of coleslaw really takes the heat down a notch and the flavors pair nicely together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laceyworks
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This was a good recipe. I omitted the white pepper & cayenne as I didn't have any. Although it didn't seem to lack flavor I would add them the next time I make this recipe to see what I was missing. I would of liked to have known how many pounds to use for this recipe as it only states 4 fillets and salmon isn't something I cook with a lot. I halved the recipe and used a 1 pound fillet, which worked out well. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laceyworks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
My husband and I do not like salmon with that being said we loved this recipe! I will most definitely make this again. I did marinate the salmon is fresh lemon juice (1 lemon) for about an hour. If you are not a salmon fan, give this a try it might just change your mind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Awesome recipe! I substitute the salt with garlic salt, and added 1/2 teaspoon of tandoori seasoning for a slightly different twist. Definitely keep the skin on the salmon and careful not to over-cook when baking or broiling. Bet this rub would be great on trout, can't wait to try it on other thick fleshed fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 583) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Balsamic-Glazed Salmon Fillets

Salmon fillets baked with a balsamic vinegar, Dijon, and white wine glaze.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States