Blackened Salmon Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This is our go-to recipe for salmon, now that we have a cheat to make it cook up faster: instead of sauteeing each individual fillet in butter in a skillet, I lay them all out on a baking sheet, slather with butter, and pour the spice mixture on. And for my kids, I pour on a LOT less of the spices! I usually am able to get a lot more than 4 fillets out of one batch of spices :D We like this served with brown rice and roasted squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I only changed a couple things: I used onion salt in place of onion powder and salt as I didn't have onion powder. I also used a mixture of butter and olive oil instead of just butter. Because I didn't want to smoke out my apartment, I opted to bake it in the oven at 425 degrees for 15 minutes (which I know cooks the fillets I like to use). I also used slightly less seasonings than what the recipe called for. It came out really really yummy! I'm quite happy with this and will probably make it at least a couple times a month. I'm not a huge fish person, but this made me really enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Abitz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi Menzie
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This was a very quick and awesome recipe! My kids ate so fast! lolol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Menzie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This tasted good, but was hard to cook because the fish started falling apart. The flavor was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Padia
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Very good! I didn't have any cayenne so I just used: Old Bay,black pepper,garlic powder,onion powder and added some Texas Pete cayenne based hot sauce to the butter and WOW!! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I cooked this recipe tonight for supper and ended up throwing over half of it in the garbage. You may wonder why I still gave it 4 stars. The reason is because, although my husband and son loved the flavour of the spices, it was way too salty. The only changes I made to the recipe were to use regular butter because I had no unsalted butter and, because of that, I cut the salt in half and used one teaspoon of salt instead of the called for two. My husband said he was afraid for his blood pressure and my son said he was afraid he'd get heart palpitations so I know it was salty. I didn't try it because I can't eat that much spice. I'm keeping the recipe but changing the butter to olive oil and still keeping the added salt to one teaspoon. I'll give it one more try like that and see if they'll eat it then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I made this tonight for company and all the wives asked for the recipe. I only made a tiny change. Instead of black pepper I used a pepper blend that is slightly spicy. and I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I added webers roasted garlic herb seasoning 1/4 tsp to the sauce. Highly enjoyed it and will be making it often due to how easy it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Tried it tonight with wild rice and green beans. Really good and simple recipe for salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I thought I would be brave and put spices on both sides - don't! Too spicy. Follow the directions. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This Salmon Was So Good. I Had Been On A Search For A Fish Recipe That My Kid Would Actually Eat. FOUND IT! My Husband and Kids Both Loved This Recipe. I Made No Changes At All. I Also Tried This Recipe With Talapia Since That Was All I Had and It Was Delicious As Well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 559) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Balsamic-Glazed Salmon Fillets

Salmon fillets baked with a balsamic vinegar, Dijon, and white wine glaze.

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States