Blackened Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Awesome prime rib. Definite add to the will do again list!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is the exact recipe found in the Christmas Party (Food and Music) collection that my Sister sent me, purchased from our favorite home shopping network!!! Love that Q! Great recipe! So easy, so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This is an excellent recipe,but at what point do the seasonings become redundant? I mean 3/4 cup of chili powder? I added all the ingredients together and by the time I got too the soy sauce I'm wondering why do I need another 1/2 cup of chili powder. So I added the blackened seasoning to the bowl and added 1/3 cup of soy sauce instead of 1/4. Then I splashed enough water in it to desolve the sugar and wet the seasonings. I also did't separate the meat from the bone. I poured the mixture over the meat. It was very thick and clung nicely.I let it sit in the fridge for an hour then I cooked it as directed to 145` and was quite pleased with the result. I will definitly use it again and I will try it on pork spare ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Haughton, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I cooked this for my staff today for our Christmas "lunch". I was a little worried that it would be too spicy for some, but everyone raved about the taste. Great recipe....won't be the last time I prepare prime rib this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I dont make it this way every time but it has become our favorite and most requested for Christmas! I followed directions and the spices formed a crust which we peeled off before carving. Such a great flavor all the way through to the middle hardly anyone used Au Jeus {spell} or horseradish! You know its great when all you hear is MMMMMMMM, Chewing and clancking silverware! Read one review that said it wasnt flavorful enough, she must have really messed up because I have had Prime Rib from everywhere, its my favorite, and this is definately the most flavorable recipe I have had! It was hard the first time to put that much chili powder on a $150 roast but am I ever glad I did! I recomend following recipe exactly at least the first time, chill overnight and remove from fridge 1 hour before cooking. Cook to your liking! ENJOY- 6 Stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dansville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Supurb flavor!! I used a 7 lb roast and added 2 Tbsp garlic powder to chili powder and blackened seasoning. Also, I added a cup of wine to the 2 cups of water in bottom of pan, which enhanced the flavor of the au jus. Will probably use chili powder with a little more "zip" next time for added spice (used mild this time). Final note: Pull your roast just before you think you should, then let it sit as recommended. Meat keeps cooking even after it's removed from oven, and you can always cook longer if it's too rare, but you can never uncook it. Overall, this is a must-try if you enjoy flavorful, delectible prime rib!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKSATTLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
I wish I had more stars to give this recipe, unbelievable, best prime rib I will ever taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
Yummy recipe! Went great with garlic mashed potatoes and green beans with walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
i make 1 or 2 of these for large parties and all the guys always come back for more... but sometimes prime rib is a little out of my price range so i use a bottom round and that works out great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Absolutely delicious! Cooked this for my friends last week for the playoffs and they devoured it! Great use of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States