Blackened Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2001
This recipe is fabulous. My husband - who doesn't like blackened anything - loves it. My suggesion would be to use Olive oil instead of vegetable oil and bake the chicken for 20 minutes instead of 5. Other than that, this is the best blackened chicken I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
Great recipe. I agree that it has to cook longer in the oven than 5-10 minutes. I also rubbed the spices on both sides and not just one. Great flavor! We used Pam canola spray (liberal) in the pan to brown the chicken and didn't have any smoke (and only had to warm it for 6-8 minutes). Also used chicken cutlets so they were a little thinner than regular chicken breasts. We will definately make again. Would be good with thick slice of melted cheese (sharpy cheddar) on top and served on a roll in the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
This chicken was the best. My family loved it. I cooked the chicken on the grill until done. (I didn't use the frying pan at all.) I also made up a little extra spice mixture and sprinkled it over the hot coals while the chicken was cooking. (Garlic added to the coals gives food a nice light smoked garlic flavor as well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2000
Wonderful, but definately a summer recipe. You need to keep all your windows and doors open.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2000
I absolutely love blackened chicken but had never attempted to make it myself using the excuse that it was probably to hard to make. I looked to see if I could find a recipe and found this one. The flavor is the same as what I get at my favorite cajun restaurant. It was very easy to make. My thanks to whoever submitted this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Redmond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
This is just what I was looking for! I read the reviews first and added more salt and less cayenne. I also added alittle garlic powder. It was very easy to make and tasted just like the dishes I've had in good resturants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
It was the best recipe I have made for a long time! It is great with a ceasar salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
I love this recipe! The first time I made it I took the advice of some of the reviews and decreased the amount of cayenne pepper. Bad idea, it was no where near spicy enough. The recipe is great the way it is, except I don't heat the oil for 15 minutes and I bake the chicken for longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2001
This was great, and a hit with family! I cooked the chicken for about 10 to 15 min longer in the oven. I also added a creamy alfrado sauce to it, then served it on a bed of pasta. Very easy to make. It had alot of flavor, for me it could have been alittle hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
This was very tasty. I did not heat my oil 15 minutes, and was missing a few of the ingredients, but I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 643) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Chicken

See how to make a spicy, Cajun-style blackened chicken.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States