Blackened Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
I am doing what I always hate for reviewers to do--I am rating this recipe in a little different form than it was written. I didn't mix up to cajun seasoning in the recipe; I used a cajun seasoning I had in my cupboard. Otherwise, though, I cooked this as written. I'm not really sure how long I baked the chicken. I cooked it until the juiced ran clear. It was probably about twenty minutes. I served this chicken with the Cajun Pasta Fresca on this site. It was absolutely amazing! Chicken was juicy and very flavorful. I will have to say that I had to open up my window when sauteing the chicken because of the red pepper in the seasoning, but it was well worth it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Pack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
Great recipe! Best dry rub... I keep it on hand and use it with seafood as well, works great on salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
Yummy! The only thing I did different was use black pepper instead of white and cooked it for longer in the oven. 5 minutes may be enough for a thin breast, but my normal sized ones needed an extra 40 minutes in the oven to cook all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by johnnui
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Easy, flavorful, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
The portions of seasoning in the recipe were a little light for my taste, so I added a bit more of each. Overall, the chicken was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
Simple and good. I did add some garlic powder to the spice mixture. The chicken was moist and good flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Spicy but great! Try a blue cheese dipping sauce to cool it down if you do not like dishes with a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
EXCELLENT and for those watching their sodium intake not salty at all. In fact the only salt (1/8th of a teaspoon) could have been left out entirely. Flavor was excellent (even the very very picky wife agreed and said I could do that again. Did the initial blackening in a smoking hot cast iron skillet as directed for 1 minute on each side. Chicken came from the oven very moist (took a little longer than the 5 minutes the recipe calls for (probably because of the size of the breasts)) and went great sliced on a salad. Very easy to make and except for the time in the oven it took only about 10 minutes counting all the measuring of spices and chopping of vegetables for the salad (the latter of which can be done while the chicken is in the oven. bottom line: we're both very pleased and will be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
First time trying! I had a craving for this and found this recipe. I didn't have any thyme so I substituted it with oregano. I would recommend that you triple this recipe. It is barely enough to cover both sides of 2 breasts. I took a comment below and melted butter and buttered it onto a breast with a basting brush. Then covered one side of the breast and cooked for 3 minutes each side or a bit longer depending on size of the breast. I then baked it at 350 for 25 minutes. It was wonderful! My picky kids even liked it and hubby asked for more. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Mckissack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
not enough flavor. didn't use cast iron. may help if used cast iron
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Elder Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trumansburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 650) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Chicken

See how to make a spicy, Cajun-style blackened chicken.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States