Blackened Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
First time trying! I had a craving for this and found this recipe. I didn't have any thyme so I substituted it with oregano. I would recommend that you triple this recipe. It is barely enough to cover both sides of 2 breasts. I took a comment below and melted butter and buttered it onto a breast with a basting brush. Then covered one side of the breast and cooked for 3 minutes each side or a bit longer depending on size of the breast. I then baked it at 350 for 25 minutes. It was wonderful! My picky kids even liked it and hubby asked for more. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Mckissack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
not enough flavor. didn't use cast iron. may help if used cast iron
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Elder Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trumansburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This "Blackened Chicken" had a really quite a nice blend of spices. I wouldn't hesitate to make it again. I flattened my chicken breasts so they were like schnitzel so more of the surface area of the chicken would be browned and also because I was cooking it in my Le Creuset cast-iron oven dish the same way I cook salmon (See Allrecipes' video on how to cook salmon) (not according the recipe instructions). I also oiled my chicken with olive oil (rather than sprayed it with cooking spray). I think this chicken would be lovely in a "hot chicken salad" if paired with the right mayo-based dressing. I will fill a spice bottle with this mixture for a "convenience food" (perfect busy-day meal). Thank you Karena for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
So perfectly seasoned !! This will be my new go to. And I love that you only need one dish. I just popped the cast iron right in the oven. I served it over fettuccini. My whole household loved this one . The only change I made was adding some Cajun seasoning for a little more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misswillco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Delicious! I'm new to cooking and tried this recipe exactly as written. Simple and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Fantastic and easy recipe! My Family loved it! I altered the cayenne pepper to 1/8 tsp to cut down on the heat and added a tad of garlic salt. Definitely a repeat at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I love this. Since cast iron is the perfect stove top to oven cooking piece, I didn't transfer to a baking sheet to finish, just leave it in the skillet and place in the oven, one less pan to clean! Thanks for sharing the recipe, it's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I didn't have dried thyme and onion powder but it still came out delicious. I mixed the spices with olive oil then rubbed it on the chicken. Instead of browning it on stovetop, it went straight to the oven for 15 mins. I cut the fillets in half prior to seasoning. I ate it with a baked potato and some chipotle salad dressing. Great lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This recipe made an amazing and fast dinner !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I like this a lot when I want some serious spice for dinner without a long wait to bake. I never bother with salt so I left that out. But this is an awesome recipe and goes well with spicy corn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 643) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Chicken

See how to make a spicy, Cajun-style blackened chicken.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States