Blackened Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
Yummy! The only thing I did different was use black pepper instead of white and cooked it for longer in the oven. 5 minutes may be enough for a thin breast, but my normal sized ones needed an extra 40 minutes in the oven to cook all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by johnnui
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
I did not have a cast iron skillet but I did cook in a regular electric skillet. I cut up 1 pound of chicken and did my best to increase the spice portions. Once chicken was mostly cooked I added a veggie mix that included broccoli, red beans, carrots, and corn. So good I surprised myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
The portions of seasoning in the recipe were a little light for my taste, so I added a bit more of each. Overall, the chicken was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
Simple and good. I did add some garlic powder to the spice mixture. The chicken was moist and good flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Spicy but great! Try a blue cheese dipping sauce to cool it down if you do not like dishes with a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
EXCELLENT and for those watching their sodium intake not salty at all. In fact the only salt (1/8th of a teaspoon) could have been left out entirely. Flavor was excellent (even the very very picky wife agreed and said I could do that again. Did the initial blackening in a smoking hot cast iron skillet as directed for 1 minute on each side. Chicken came from the oven very moist (took a little longer than the 5 minutes the recipe calls for (probably because of the size of the breasts)) and went great sliced on a salad. Very easy to make and except for the time in the oven it took only about 10 minutes counting all the measuring of spices and chopping of vegetables for the salad (the latter of which can be done while the chicken is in the oven. bottom line: we're both very pleased and will be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
First time trying! I had a craving for this and found this recipe. I didn't have any thyme so I substituted it with oregano. I would recommend that you triple this recipe. It is barely enough to cover both sides of 2 breasts. I took a comment below and melted butter and buttered it onto a breast with a basting brush. Then covered one side of the breast and cooked for 3 minutes each side or a bit longer depending on size of the breast. I then baked it at 350 for 25 minutes. It was wonderful! My picky kids even liked it and hubby asked for more. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Mckissack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
not enough flavor. didn't use cast iron. may help if used cast iron
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Elder Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trumansburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This "Blackened Chicken" had a really quite a nice blend of spices. I wouldn't hesitate to make it again. I flattened my chicken breasts so they were like schnitzel so more of the surface area of the chicken would be browned and also because I was cooking it in my Le Creuset cast-iron oven dish the same way I cook salmon (See Allrecipes' video on how to cook salmon) (not according the recipe instructions). I also oiled my chicken with olive oil (rather than sprayed it with cooking spray). I think this chicken would be lovely in a "hot chicken salad" if paired with the right mayo-based dressing. I will fill a spice bottle with this mixture for a "convenience food" (perfect busy-day meal). Thank you Karena for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
So perfectly seasoned !! This will be my new go to. And I love that you only need one dish. I just popped the cast iron right in the oven. I served it over fettuccini. My whole household loved this one . The only change I made was adding some Cajun seasoning for a little more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misswillco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 648) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Chicken

See how to make a spicy, Cajun-style blackened chicken.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States