Blackened Chicken Pizza with Yellow Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
My husband LOVES this. He got ill with me when I shared the leftovers with my sister for lunch! He thinks it's better with yellow tomatoes, but red tomatoes are fine. I followed the advice of others and cut the salt in half for the chicken rub. I also used a whole wheat pizza crust. Besides that, the recipe is perfect. If you like mushrooms, be sure to add those because it makes the pizza better. Thanks for this wonderful, healthy pizza recipe! I am adding a note in here about the sogginess another reviewer mentioned - I always squeeze my salsa through a cloth or paper towel before spreading on pizza. Otherwise, the excessive liquids leave the crust soggy and messy to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I too only used this for the Blackened Chicken part, was by far the best I've had (but be-warned it is abit spicy). Probally not for the younger croud but if you like full flavor and a bite back this stuff is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubbasracecar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Freakin' amazing. The chicken is excellent by itself but what really steals the show is the sauce. It's almost like having your chicken and cheese on top of a delicious bed of fresh salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Fabulous. I par-baked a pizza crust for about 5-7 minutes to avoid a soggy crust-used a Trader Joe's pizza dough purchased in the refrigerator section. The chicken is fabulous with the spice combination. Because I was at a friend's house using a dull knife to chop the salsa ingredients, I eventually used a food processor to aid in the process. I just spread the salsa on the crust and then topped with the chicken and the recommended cheese. I took the pizza to my gourmet group and it was consumed in a very short period of time. I did not think that there was a whole lot of heat produced by the ingredients-just a very flavorful combination. The crust was not soggy and I did not drain off any liquid from the salsa like some people did. All I can say is "YUMMY"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
The pizza was very good, but I believe that the oregano was too strong in the chicken's seasoning. Next time I make it, I will cut it down if not omit it completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Excellent gourmet tasting pizza!! Kids loved it, although they thought it was a little spicy. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This pizza was incredible, the chicken was great. I added crumbled turkey bacon as well. The only problem I had was the crust came out kind of soggy on the bottom. Be sure to drain extra tomato juice before spreading salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I LOVE this pizza!! It's delicious yet healthy! I too use whole wheat pizza crust, and use olive oil to marinate the chicken, and 2% cheese, or whatever I have on hand. I have also used red tomatoes, yellow, and Roma tomatoes. They all work. I have also put spinach on the bottom before too. This is just one of those recipes that you can tweak to your liking. Thank you Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Awesome recipe! Made it twice this week. Used whole wheat crust and tasted delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Very good but a little too spicy for me. I used provolone rather than pepper jack and will still reduce jalapenos next time. I used a whole wheat pizza crust. This recipe is a healthy way to eat pizza - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

BBQ Chicken Pizza

See how quick and easy it is to make a delicious BBQ chicken pizza.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States