Blackened Catfish and Spicy Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Gina
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I used talapia instead of catfish with a garlic butter rice, and cabbage a shear delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This recipe makes more rub than is needed for the 4 filets (16 oz.) I wanted to cook. The blend of seasonings was very good but it was too much heat for us even with reducing the pepper and cayenne to 3/4 t. (Next time will reduce to 1/2 t and use less salt.) I coated the filets with 1/4c melted butter, sprinkled the rub on both sides then baked it in the oven at 400 degrees for 20 mins. Part way through I turned the fish, drizzled with the remaining butter and finished baking until flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This came out well - simple for even a novice. They just have to keep an eye on the fish, so it turns out flakey and moist. Will use some Extra-light Olive Oil when cooking the fish, and halve the butter, next time. There will still be enough butter, after basting the fillets, to add to the pan to help impart that smoothness. It was good, and all, but we like to use a lot of pan sauce over the rice and fish and it was very buttery. Using the Extra-light OO would cut some of the extra calories and such, yet still allow the great flavors to come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I used tilapia filets instead of catfish because that is what I had in the freezer. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This was surprisingly amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Wonderful! My wife finished her plate and that's the first time that's happened when I serve fish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This just didn't work for us. The flavors just seemed off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I was not expecting this to be anything special, but after the first bite I found I was in for a surprise! My picky husband and I have very different tastes and we both LOVED this dish--he said it's one of the best things I've ever cooked (I consider myself a decent cook). I came on looking for a different recipe for blackened catfish that we use whenever we find catfish on sale, stumbled on this recipe, and I don't think we'll ever go back to the other recipe! I did only use about 3 Tbs butter and that was plenty. High marks from our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Loved the "rub" and the rice was a huge hit too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Split3ways

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States