Blackberry and Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This was good even with frozen berries. Some reviewers found the filling too runny so I thawed and drained the berries first, and also added 2 T of cornstarch to the sugar/flour mix (and increased the sugar to 1 cup per other reviewers). The pie was not runny at all. After it cooled, I could slice it into neat wedges without the filling spilling out the edges. The pie was a little on the skimpy side--I'd use more berries than the recipe calls for if using frozen berries. Also, don't be afraid to adjust the ratio of the two berries; I used equal parts of both berries and it wasn't too tart. The crust wasn't bad but it wasn't terrific. If you already have a good crust recipe, I'd stick with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
this was so simple i couldn't believe it- it took all of 10 minutes to make- (mind you i used a ready made crust)- however, i followed the suggestions and used 1 cup of sugar and 1 tbsp of cornstarch- the cornstarch was a great idea but the extra sugar?-uhuh it was far too sweet- next time i will stick with the original recipe- but remember cooks: i think it depends A LOT upon the very fruit YOU are using- taste your blackberries - if they are really sour, then for sure use 1 cup of sugar- if they are not so sour and your blueberries are very sweet (like in my case), only use 3/4 cup of sugar- that's my suggestion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
I made four of these pies to take to the cottage recently, and they were simply amazing. Our guests couldn't get enough! We served each slice warmed with a big scoop of homemade vanilla ice cream. This was just a sensational dessert. Thank you for posting this recipe. It will be made often. (I used both frozen blackberries and blueberries as fresh were not available at the time.) They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I modified, too, by adding 1/3 cup white sugar, a pinch of salt and 1 TBS cornstarch and omitting the butter patting (it only adds fat). I used straight from the freezer frozen marion blackberries (16+oz) and wild maine bluberries (12oz). I also used a frozen Marie Callender's double-crust. It turned into the most delectable deep-dish B&B Berry Pie ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Loved this-be sure to top with Cool Whip-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
This recipe is amazing! I agree in adding cornstarch. I have a variation of this recipe. When cutting slits in the top, make an X and peel back the middle. When the pie is right out of the oven, pour a little heavy cream into the middle. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
This was an excellent pie. The filling was a little thick for my tastes, so next I would use less flour in the filling. To add a bit more flavor I would also add more lemon juice. But definitely an easy to make pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
Made this pie today and it was excellent. Only change I made was that I substituted Splenda for the white sugar, and it came out perfectly. My husband has had two pieces already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUBBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richeyville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
I was a little nervous because I had to use frozen blueberries, but even so this was wonderful. I did add two Tablespoons of cornstarch after reading other reviews but other than that I didn't change a thing. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
Excellent. I agree /w the other reviewers that suggested 1 c. sugar and also the addition of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States