Blackberry and Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Absolutely fabulous pie! I have never made pie crust from scratch. It was challenging, but fun! I had some tears in the top crust where the juice seeped through, and because of this my pie was pretty ugly (see pic). But regardless of looks, it was really good. My boyfriends mom couldn't stop raving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
My, oh my, I do love pie, and I especially enjoyed this one! I used 2 pkgs of frozen mixed berries, swapped out an equal amount of cornstarch for the flour as cornstarch has more thickening power, added a couple of grates of nutmeg across my nutmeg grater. Used an eggwash on the crush sprinkled with sugar. This is now one of my signature summer pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
I tweaked this a little just because I had canned filling on hand, and it was still very good. I forgot to add the lemon juice, and next time i'll add it for sure to give the filling a little kick, since my canned stuff was a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Absolutely awesome!!! This is the best pie I have ever made. I did modify - used Pillsbury premade pie crust and used 2 1/4 c blueberries and 2 1/4 c blackberries and 1 cup of sugar. It was just perfect with just the right amount of sweetness. The next day, I didn't have any pie crusts so I made the filling in a casserole, baked for 30 minutes and then served over ice cream. HEAVEN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This was perfect!! I switched the amount of blueberries with blackberries and vice versa and added 1/4c more sugar as the wild blackberries I had were a little tart. This was my first berry pie I made from scratch and it came out absolutely wonderful. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ash Grove, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This pie was a wonderful use for the last of the blueberries and blackberries I picked this summer. I didn't change a thing except I used a Pillsbury pie crust. Excellent! I can't wait to use fresh berries this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Baldwin, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
One of the best pies I've ever tasted. And I took the easy way out. I used refrigerated pie dough, a bag of frozen blackberries, blueberries and raspberries. And I topped it with a simple, butter, brown sugar, flour and cinnamon crumble. Served it with vanilla flavored whipped cream. It really tasted unbelievable. Had to cook it a little longer due to the frozen berries, but with your nice trick with the foil on the edges it was no problem. I'll make this over and over again. Can't wait to try it with fresh ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARNESTA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Came out great! I'm not a big fan of berry pies, but this was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I made this pie as well as the "Pilgrim Pumpkin Pie" from this website for Turkey Day. It was a delicious pie. All of the guests at dinner raved about how good it was. A few guests mentioned I could even sell my pies! I used my own crust recipe and latticed the top for presentation. I added 3 cups blueberries and 2.5 cups blackberries. I also added an extra Tbsp of sugar and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. YUM!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIN1YNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homebush Bay, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I substitued the blueberries for Huckleberries and, when you are from the Northwest, it is the best of both worlds at the end of the summer. It turned out delicious. I added 1/4 cup tapioca (as I do to all my berry pies) and it was thick and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States