Blackberry and Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
It is an excellent recipe, together with butter flaky crust recipe it makes a delicious pie. My husband does not get tired of it and would eat it as fast as I could make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Excellent and very easy. I used frozen berries, slightly drained. I also added the 2T cornstarch per other recommendations. The pie was slightly runny when it came out of the oven but it firmed up once completely cooled - I think I will wait to slice it next time until it is cooled. I cheated and used the Pillsbury refrigerated crusts and covered the edges with foil after the first 20 minutes of cooking. 2nd time around: Filling still came out great - a litle runny, but I did not drain or defrost the frozen berries, although I did add 3T cornstarch. The crust came out terrible - much too soggy - I cheated and used the prepared pillsbury crusts. May attempt from scratch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Made 2 of these last night. I used a package pie dough mix. I added more blackberries than blueberries(frozen). I also added a sprinkle of nutmeg. I added a 1/4 cup more of sugar because thought the blackberries would be tart. But it turned out to sweet. Next time will go with original recipe. Great pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I read all of the rave reviews for this pie, and had to try it myself! I subsituted frozen readimade whole wheat piecrusts from the healthfood store, used raw sugar(added an extra 1/3 cup), halved the butter pats, used 3 1/2 cups blackberries, and 2 cups blueberries...WOW what a wonderful pie! my husband liked it better than the desserts from the local french pastry chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Delicious! This was my first attempt at making a pie crust from scratch, and I had a heck of a time keeping the crust in one piece, but appearances aside, this was a wonderful pie. As I have access to both blueberry and blackberry bushes via boyfriend, I'll surely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Absolutely fabulous pie! I have never made pie crust from scratch. It was challenging, but fun! I had some tears in the top crust where the juice seeped through, and because of this my pie was pretty ugly (see pic). But regardless of looks, it was really good. My boyfriends mom couldn't stop raving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
My, oh my, I do love pie, and I especially enjoyed this one! I used 2 pkgs of frozen mixed berries, swapped out an equal amount of cornstarch for the flour as cornstarch has more thickening power, added a couple of grates of nutmeg across my nutmeg grater. Used an eggwash on the crush sprinkled with sugar. This is now one of my signature summer pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
I tweaked this a little just because I had canned filling on hand, and it was still very good. I forgot to add the lemon juice, and next time i'll add it for sure to give the filling a little kick, since my canned stuff was a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Absolutely awesome!!! This is the best pie I have ever made. I did modify - used Pillsbury premade pie crust and used 2 1/4 c blueberries and 2 1/4 c blackberries and 1 cup of sugar. It was just perfect with just the right amount of sweetness. The next day, I didn't have any pie crusts so I made the filling in a casserole, baked for 30 minutes and then served over ice cream. HEAVEN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States