Blackberry and Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Absolutely wonderful! Everyone who has tried this loves it! I did make a few modifications: - I used two packages of frozen berries (one three berry and one raspberry) - I used a different crust recipe - I added 3T of cornstarch and a bit more sugar to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I'm giving this three stars because of the amount of juice from the berries. I am not sure how to reduce this as I used frozen berries, thawed them and drained them before I put them in the pie. My crusts didn't even stay together long enough to put it in the oven. The juice took over and separated them before I could finish my decorative crust. NOTE! I also added 3 TBS of corn starch. I've never had to use a turkey baster to reduce the amount of juice in a pie - this was a first for that! I'm thinking that the frozen berries were at fault here. Had I used fresh, this may not have happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mybabiesmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mapleton, Utah, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
My Daughter used this recipe for her 4-H project. She received a Blue Ribbon and made the Honor Group. We really enjoyed eating her practice pies. She didn't change anything except she used a full top crust instead a lattice top like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Salem, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
this turned out a bit runny but it was a hit at the pie auction. Great flavor and the addition of cinnamon was fabulous! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBYLN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I made this pie with fresh blackberries and frozen blueberries. I have never liked blueberry pie, I always thought it was too sweet. When I made this pie I thought about cutting back the sugar. However, I completely forgot the sugar when I was making it and it was the best blueberry pie i have ever eaten. It wasn't runny at all once it cooled off and you could really taste the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
My grocery store was out of blackberries(!?) so I just used blueberries. It was fantastic and not too runny at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
This Recipe Was WONDERFUL!!! It was so yummy i had to go back for seconds. It is also great with some vanilla ice- cream, especially when warm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E_Bear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Absolutely great! I've made it twice in two weeks now, my husband can't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
This pie was very good. I must say, I did have to leave out the butter because I was making it for a vegan family, and I used a frozen mix of blueberries, raspberries and blackberries. Next time I will use Martha Stewarts pastry recipe, I do not like to use shortening due to the hydrogenated oil. If I need to use frozen berries I will either thaw them first and pour off some of the juice or use 3T of cornstarch, like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Maunaloa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States