Blackberry and Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by BuddGurl
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Thank you for this great recipe! I just baked this pie today. I used a store bought crust, omitted the butter and added 1 Tbsp. corn startch as recommended by other reviewers. I made an egg wash of: egg white, a small amount of yolk and a small amount of cold water - beat it until slightly frothy then brush on top of the pie. I also sprinkled some sugar over top of the wash. When the pie was in 20 minutes, the edges were already golden brown so I covered them with foil. There was some filling seepage but the pie was still so pretty that I had to take a picture and upload. I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BuddGurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Goshen, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I followed the recipe as is. The recipe for the crust was half the amount that I needed; it was only enough for the bottom crust. I gave this 4 stars because my boyfriend thought that there was too much cinnamon and not enough tartness. Overall though a good pie! Next time I would just use half the amount of cinnamon called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This recipe is so good that it actually inspired me to become a member so that I could review it! I used a cheater crust, so I can't review that, but the filling was phenominal. I did add the cornstarch (3 TBS) so the filling wouldn't be too runny, but other than that didn't change a thing! We had six people over for lunch and ended with one tiny sliver of pie left. Two people actually went back for seconds! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Good, not great. Needs something to put it over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katybee
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I wish I could give it 3.5 but it's not an option. I used a different crust recipe so I can't judge that, but as for the filling, it was much to runny! I brought this too a bbq and some said it tasted like the cinnamon overpowered the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katybee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I don't eat pies, I just make them, but everyone LOVED this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
delicious! Made my subsitutions. I used a frozen blueberry, blackberry, raspberry mix, and then added some fresh strawberries. I used splenda and also added some cornstarch via other users. Also added some extra cinnamon because I love it. I also used the French Pastry pie crust recipe on this site, which was wonderful. very flaky and suited the pie. will definitely make this pie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
this was good, but if you are looking to please a blueberry pie lover don't make this pie. My b/f wanted a blueberry pie and I thought I would spice it up with this recipe. He was disappointed - I think mainly because of the seeds in the blackberries. Or maybe just because it didnt taste like blueberry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NLCHIPMAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I was lucky enough to find fresh berries on sale in January, so I made this pie for my fiance for his birthday instead of cake. I used Pillsbury crusts from the refrigerator case, but otherwise made the recipe as written. Very very tasty! The amount of filling was just right and we didn't notice that it was runny. I've been able to cut slice after slice and the berries/filling stay in place. A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States