Blackberry and Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I like this a lot, as did my family. Our only modification was that we used our favorite pie crust as opposed to the one suggested (just what we always do because we have the best crust recipe ever!) As far as runny pies go, I saw on another recipe that you should turn the oven off when the pie is cooked, crack the door and let it sit for an hour to aid with thickening. Worked like a charm. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Got rave reviews when I made for a work-related bbq party! Despite having to substitute a few ingredients (not enough time to go to the grocery store) it tasted really good. Besides substituting strawberries for the blackberries, and butter for the shortening, I added a tablespoon of corn starch based on other reviewers. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This pie was simply delicious (my guests thought so as well). I added 2 tbsp cornstarch as per other reviewers and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Great recipe! Got instructions for the lattice top from betty on youtube
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melissa.hunt31
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I liked the base of this pie but I decided to make it more of a mixed berry pie and used blueberries, blackberries, raspberries and strawberries. I stuck with my usual crust recipe (per other reviews) and used cookie cutters to make a decorative crust (this one, for Christmas)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
A little runny but great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Very good--I've made other blue-black pies that weren't as good but I did add 1 full cup of sugar. I also made this with frozen berries but it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
The flavor was good, the crust was good, the only thing I should have done was thaw out the frozen berries before using them--it turned out too runny even adding a TBS. of cornstarch in addition to the flour. But, that was my fault, otherwise, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kyle, Texas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Excellent way to enjoy both tastes of blackberries and blueberries. Would add more stars if possible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I've been making this pie for several years now and have always enjoyed it. We will use fresh berries and adjust the ratio depending on what's available. Use Arrowroot and the pie will not be runny, it is an acid stabile starch. These pies also freeze well, we will make 6 or so every summer and store in the deep freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States