Blackberry and Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I substitued the blueberries for Huckleberries and, when you are from the Northwest, it is the best of both worlds at the end of the summer. It turned out delicious. I added 1/4 cup tapioca (as I do to all my berry pies) and it was thick and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
My father-in-laws new favorite pie. I also just made the filling with gluten-free flower and it turned out perfect - we poured it hot over vanilla ice cream, mmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGYEAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This was good even with frozen berries. Some reviewers found the filling too runny so I thawed and drained the berries first, and also added 2 T of cornstarch to the sugar/flour mix (and increased the sugar to 1 cup per other reviewers). The pie was not runny at all. After it cooled, I could slice it into neat wedges without the filling spilling out the edges. The pie was a little on the skimpy side--I'd use more berries than the recipe calls for if using frozen berries. Also, don't be afraid to adjust the ratio of the two berries; I used equal parts of both berries and it wasn't too tart. The crust wasn't bad but it wasn't terrific. If you already have a good crust recipe, I'd stick with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
This recipe was great! I added a cup of raspberries and won a local pie contest! It's not the sweetest, so adding more sugar could be good, if you like a sweet pie. It was a big hit...The dish was practically licked clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
this recipe turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chupsie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
This was ok, quite sour. Only reviewing the filling - made my usual crust. Perhaps the tartness was because I used more blackberries and less blueberries (probably 2.5 cups black and 2 cups blue), I guess I should have inreased the sugar. The filling set up fine once cooled - very liquidy right after baking, but that's pretty normal. Made filling as per recipe except for berry amounts. Overall I was disappointed....didn't bring out the flavour of the berries. Maybe some nutmeg or forget the lemon juice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
This pie recipe is the best for all accasions and also for holidays thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I made this for my husband, who had never had anything with blackberries in it. It was a hit, so I made two more for our family reunion. Again it was a hit. I did not change a thing about the filling and it was perfect!! I did add a couple of tablespoons of cinnamon and sugar to the pie crust the second time to add a zing to the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laingsburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Benton Harbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
I've made this pie twice, and it's always gone in less than two days. I use Splenda for Baking for instead of just pure white sugar, and I use my own pie crust recipe. I also followed the recommendations and added some cornstarch. It's still a little goey, but just right. Perfect combination of sweet and tart. Excellent with a lattice pie top or some ice cream on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
I took the reccomendation to add some corn starch (I added 2T) and the pie turned out well. yummy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States