Blackberry and Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
very good. I used my own pie crust recipe, and added about 5 TBSP. cornstarch-- but otherwise followed. very good and got great feedback from family. will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
The pie crust was difficult to make, and I made this pie twice already. I figured, since it was my first time making crust ...it would be difficult, but it was just as hard the second time around. It was a good filling, but did not use all the sugar needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hugh B
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I didn't change a thing, the crust was flaky and the filling perfect. I used some Blackberrys from moms ranch and some blueberries from the oregon coast. I did lightly brush on melted butter and a light sprinkle of sugar to finish it off .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hugh B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I have made it a couple of times and and it always is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I tried this recipe using my own pie crust recipe. I used 3 1/2 c. blackberries and 2 c. blueberries and added about 1 1/4 c. sugar, as the blackberries needed more than the blueberries do. I also added about 1 tbsp. of quick cooking tapioca. The filling was not too runny or too thick; just about right. Instead of baking it for the entire time in the oven, I baked it at about 80% power in the microwave for 10 min. first, while the oven was heating, then finished it for 10-12 min. at 425 degrees in the oven. This prevents the crust from browning too much. The microwave baking time equals about the same as 30 min. in the oven for 10 min. in the microwave. I've done this with other fruit pies in the past, and it saves heating up the kitchen too much also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This being summer I used fresh fruit. Blueberries, blackberries and sliced strawberries made for a delicious pie! I put an extra cookie sheet on the bottom rack underneath the rack that had the pie (on another cookie sheet) on it. Glad I did because it bubbled quite a bit as it baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Delicious recipe that everyone in my family loved. I did not end up using the crust part of this recipe, however, the filling was fabulous. I used frozen berries that we had previously frozen. Thawing them under warm water, I dried them with a towel before putting them in with the rest of the filling. Excellent flavor. I think I would use a little less sugar next time just to match my tastes. I also think we would use just blueberries and maybe try other types of berries too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I followed the recipe, but also took note of some other reviews, adding 2 tbsp. corn starch, increasing sugar to 1 C, increasing the number of berries (4 C fresh black, 2 1/2 C thawed blue), and adding lemon zest and juice. I also took out the butter and brushed the top with beaten egg (instead of milk) and sprinkled with sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
My family loved the flavor of these two berries mixed together. While I picked fresh blackberries and blueberries this summer, I froze them to use as needed. They worked fabulously in this pie. I also used the corn starch another reviewer suggested to ensure the filling thickened properly. I've made several of these pies this fall, and my family is asking for this one for Thanksgiving dessert, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This turned out perfect with a couple of alterations. I have made many berry pies now and found that all turn out a little runny unless I cook down the berries whether fresh or frozen. Here's how I did this recipe: Added berries to pan on medium heat with sugar, lemon juice, cinnamon, ginger, and cardamom (depth of flavor) and added 2 tsp. water to 2 tsp. cornstarch or flour. This step thickens the berries and prevents too much juice. I waited for the berry mix to cool then and added it to the pie crust to bake. It made the perfect pie! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States