Blackberry Puff Pastry Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This was fantastic! I baked the shells almost done then filled and left on the counter until about 10 minutes before we were ready to eat them. Popped in the over to heat filling and finish browning the shells and served right away. I had one left over and just put it in a ziploc and left it at room temp overnight. Put it in the over for about 5 min to reheat. I made one without berries for a picky eater and it was also great. I love berries but I would also like to try this with other fruit. Because of the cinnamon, chopped apples would be delicious in place of the berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This was really great and easy. I had to use the pastry sheets because the store had no shells. I was being very lazy, so I cut the sheets into nine pieces each and basically made "raviolis' by putting one piece on bottom-adding ingredients-one piece on top and then pinched the edges together. They were much better cold. I shared them with the neighbors who loved them too! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Five stars for the great taste! I used frozen berries and that was a mistake that caused the pastry filling to be very runny, so I definitely don't recommend frozen berries in this recipe. I used pastry sheets rather than shells and I didn't have turbinado sugar so I just sprinkled brown sugar and I think that worked quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I made this with blueberries and leftover puff pastry and it was delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Great recipe! I made it for Christmas dessert and everyone loved it. I replaced the blackberries for blueberries and it was a hit. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deepa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
It was not only really good, it was quick and easy. We will be making this a lot more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA
Photo by ernesta
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
out of the three puff pastry desserts i made, my husband liked this the best. he even ate the ones i put away for my brother. i ate mine with whip cream, and he ate his without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
These are wonderful. I used a sheet of puff pastry instead of the shells, and cut into 12 pieces for tiny little pastries. There is way too much filling when you do it this way, but it's very tasty so I'll use it as a fruit dip. I overfilled them a bit, but it all turned out just fine. Since my rectangles were so small, one blackberry per pastry was about all I could get in there. I folded over into little triangles. I don't have turbinado sugar, which is made from sugar cane extract and is crystallized. Brown sugar is an accepted substitute, though, so I used that. They turned out just lovely--my only problem is going to be how to stop eating these things!!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Easy, tastes great, very pretty. You can't ask for much more. Followed the recipe and these were enjoyed by everyone that tried them. As the author recommends not to refrigerate, I agree that they should be eaten within a couple of hours of preparing them. I put the leftover tart in the fridge for my son to have when he came in from work. Although the cream was better chilled, the pastry was slightly tough and a little hard to eat. Still delicious though and eaten without any complaint! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Very good! I'm not huge on cinnamon, neither is my fiance, but our friends absolutely loved these. I didn't have any turbinado sugar, but I'm not sure it would have made a huge difference. Next time I make these I'll omit the cinnamon, and use mascarpone instead of cream cheese. I have a feeling those would be wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingNerd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harker Heights, Texas, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States