Blackberry Puff Pastry Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
These are wonderful. I used a sheet of puff pastry instead of the shells, and cut into 12 pieces for tiny little pastries. There is way too much filling when you do it this way, but it's very tasty so I'll use it as a fruit dip. I overfilled them a bit, but it all turned out just fine. Since my rectangles were so small, one blackberry per pastry was about all I could get in there. I folded over into little triangles. I don't have turbinado sugar, which is made from sugar cane extract and is crystallized. Brown sugar is an accepted substitute, though, so I used that. They turned out just lovely--my only problem is going to be how to stop eating these things!!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
So easy and delicious. I used cherries instead since that's what I had. I sliced the puff sheets into 9 pieces and put them into muffin cups to make my own shells. Next time grease the tins. I only needed 2 for me and DH so I put the filling in 2 as they finished baking. Will definately make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
It was not only really good, it was quick and easy. We will be making this a lot more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
we used puff pastry sheets and cut them into squares and put the squares in muffin tins to make our own shells. we also used brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellabirthing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Very good! I'm not huge on cinnamon, neither is my fiance, but our friends absolutely loved these. I didn't have any turbinado sugar, but I'm not sure it would have made a huge difference. Next time I make these I'll omit the cinnamon, and use mascarpone instead of cream cheese. I have a feeling those would be wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingNerd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harker Heights, Texas, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Tasty treat! Simple dessert when you have company over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRIAM001

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Made these for Easter Brunch for 20 guests. I used the sheets and got rave reviews from everyone! Spouse is demanding I make them just for us now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I used frozen blueberries because it was what I had. I have been looking for a recipe like this for awhile so thank you! Everyone loved them! I also used regular puff pastry and rolled it out to 12'' then cut it into 6 rectangles and halfed those, I placed the two halves on top of each other and baked and they worked out great, they were easy to seperate and put back together, though probably not as pretty as the rectangle ones. I also didn't have turbinado sugar, I couldn't find it at my grocers. I sprinkled the tops with regular sugar and they turned out tasty anyway! This is a great recipe, and I'll most definately be using again with a variety of fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinagail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Easy and delicious with a beautiful presentation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I made this for hubby's work and everyone enjoyed. The only thing was that since I used 1/2 regular and 1/2 neufatchel cheese it seemed slightly runny. And I had to use frozen fruit cause supermarket didn't have any fresh. The extra liquid could have come from that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilacBuddhaCat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broomall, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States