Blackberry Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This pie did not work for me. It was very runny,and it was not very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This is my blackberry pie recipe from now on! I added some cinnamon and a little lemon juice. Added a tablespoon more of minute tapioca. It set up nice and was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
this was great my husband and son almost ate the whole thing by themselves this is a recipe i will use over and over with the fresh berries we grow! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This is a good berry pie recipe. I'm going to try it with raspberries next. I gave it four stars due to the changes I made. Firstly, I added lemon juice and zest from one lemon to bring out more of the berries' flavor. Secondly, I don't like double crust pies, so I made a single crust (see Laura's recipe: "No-roll Pie Crust II.") and scattered a crumble over the top. Finally, as other reviewers have noted, it needs to be baked at least 45 minutes. I have no idea how the other reviewers got by with 30 minutes! The pie was EXCELLENT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Great berry pie~ only my first try..Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Excellent! My mother-in-law said it was "exactly right." :) Will make again. I did add a bit of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Finally a blackberry pie recipe that holds together! I was so sick of the runny inside, the tapioca sure did the trick! Great flavor too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tegan Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Good basic recipe but the berries still ran (using instant tapioca) when the pie was warm, which is the best time to eat it! Once cooled it stayed together, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This is the best and easiest recipe! To make the pie thicker, add extra tapioca, just estimate the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I used tapioca - not the fast cooking kind so I literally had hard little pearls in the pie. I baked it about 45 minutes and had lots of juice for the tapioca to absorb but no luck. Maybe use one of those instant tapiocas or quick coooking kind? Sometimes it's the small details that get me (I don't keep many instant foods in my pantry and it backfires on me sometimes :-p ) You know though, it's hard to go wrong with sweet blackberries and pastry. I'll exclude the tapioca next time and go more traditional. (or buy instant tapioca?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States