Blackberry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Complete success first time with company. One guest ate half the pie himself. I added 1 more tblespn of flour and used Splenda instead of real sugar. I used wild fresh picked, that morning berries. Extremely easy to make with great results. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark B.
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Wonderfully simple and very tasty recipe. Only change was that I needed to bake it longer than the stated time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
This pie has a great taste - just the right combination of sweet and tart. (I used wild berries.) The lemon juice adds a zing - but it doesn't taste lemony. It was pretty runny, though. More like a cobbler. Maybe my berries were extra juicy. I'll increase the flour by 1/3 the next time. Also, the edges burned quickly at 450 degrees. I may either bake it all at one temp - or at 400 for the first period instead of 450. But overall...a very nice pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
I made this pie for my boyfriend for his birthday last year, and it nearly brought him to tears. Seriously, it's that good. And he's a tough critic. He even thought that the super-cheap Safeway frozen pie crust was of my own creation. The only thing I did differently was that I substituted Earth Balance (butter substitute) for the butter. I really do think that Earth Balance makes everything taste better, so dotting the pie crust AND the fruit with melted EB makes a difference. I highly recommend this recipe. It's so easy too! Carol, you rule!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Recently picked blackberries for the first time and my family begged for a pie. One problem...I had never made a pie before. I checked on this wonderful site and found this very simple and well-rated recipe. We were not disappointed. The pie turned out delicious. I did add an additional tablespoon of flour b/c of others claiming their pie was too runny. It was perfect! Thank you for an easy, yet tasty, recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
This recipe is incredibly easy. Mine didn't turn out as tasty as I'd hoped, but I think that was due more to the wild blackberries I used. If you're mixing the filling and it seems too thin, it probably is (as mine was). Add more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I've made this recipe quite a few times and it always turns out spectacular. The pie never seems to last more than a day..two at the most and it's only me and my husband. We can't stop eating it. I usually eyeball the ingredients(adding a little more flour if the berries are fresh and extra juicy) I also use Splenda instead of sugar. I've always used the Pillsbury pie dough (very easy) and the only thing I do differently is to wash the top with a little half and half and sprinkle with brown sugar (a little more that a tsp) over the top crust. I've also used a mixture of frozen berries (sometimes assorted) with fresh if I come up short on the amount needed to fill the pie tin. Always turns out perfect! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
my family loved this pie,I have made otheer blackberry pies in the past, but this one is the best. Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Very good! I added more flour, as others had suggested, still a little runny. I think I'll do cornstarch next time. Also cut sugar to 3/4 c. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
GREAT blackberry pie. I didn't change the recipe at all, and I'de never made a fruit pie before, and it still turned out wonderfully! Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOrganic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States