Blackberry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This pie was delicious, made with 2 small changes did increase flour to 4 tbsp, and used 1/2 sugar and 1/2 splenda. Pie was not runny.husband picked the wild berries last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Mannington, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
To use an old saying very loosely, this pie was not my "finest hour." Short on flavor and the consistency undesirable. Also, I used the 450 degree temperature against my better judgment and wished I had just stuck with my usual 375 - it was too hot. The crust set nicely, but browned too quickly, even tho' I had the pie in the lower third of the oven. I think it impacted the filling negatively as well. Not a fan of this one at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Using fresh blackberries is key and its fun to play around with the top crust. Came out delicious and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
AMAZING. I brought this to a potluck of 7 people and it was literally gone within 5 minutes. People devoured it. I can't think of how it could be any better--perfect amount of sweetness and a little tartness. It was the favorite dish at the potluck. I will make this again as many times as I can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chanelnb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This pie tasted AMAZING, I've been looking for a good blackberry pie recipe for some time now. My only change is use cornstarch to thicken, not flour. And I tacked on another tablespoon, so I used 4 tablespoons of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANICER8
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Very easy to make Blackberry Pie. Family loved it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICER8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
A good basic recipe for blackberry pie. Try substituing tapioca as a thickening agent rather than flour. The back of the tapioca box will advise you how much to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I used this recipe for my first pie and it turned out PERFECT. (I've now made it three more times). I latticed the top to make it look more professional, but it didn't matter, because it was gone in minutes! Also, careful using frozen fruits, as sometimes they can make the filling too runny if they're icy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.christinetyler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Easy to make and wonderful taste. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I have made this twice in the last week with our freshly picked blackberries. My husband says it is his new favorite! I followed the recipe except for adding more berries (about 1 to 1 1/2 cups) and increasing the flour as other reviewers have suggested. The best part is it is SO EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States