Blackberry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2000
Great "old-fashioned" pie. Good texture and flavor is just right- not too tart-not too sweet- enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
my family loved this pie,I have made otheer blackberry pies in the past, but this one is the best. Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
This pie has a great taste - just the right combination of sweet and tart. (I used wild berries.) The lemon juice adds a zing - but it doesn't taste lemony. It was pretty runny, though. More like a cobbler. Maybe my berries were extra juicy. I'll increase the flour by 1/3 the next time. Also, the edges burned quickly at 450 degrees. I may either bake it all at one temp - or at 400 for the first period instead of 450. But overall...a very nice pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
This was superb. I used it as a basis for a cobbler, I had 7-8 cups of blackberries. took it to church for a dinner and all the elderly men said it reminded them of their mama's cobbler. they didn't understand how some one my age could bake like that. Wonderful. Thanks for the recipe, I've been looking for an excellent berry recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
Great easy pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
A great recipe! It was a little runny, so I turned it into a cobbler...needs a little more flour to be a pie, but extremely tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
This recipe is incredibly easy. Mine didn't turn out as tasty as I'd hoped, but I think that was due more to the wild blackberries I used. If you're mixing the filling and it seems too thin, it probably is (as mine was). Add more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
This recpie was delicous! I loved the texture and found the combination of sweet and tart suberb! I added a bit more flour like the other reviewers had said and it came out perfect. My family loved it, and I will deffinatly make it again! Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
I made this pie for my boyfriend for his birthday last year, and it nearly brought him to tears. Seriously, it's that good. And he's a tough critic. He even thought that the super-cheap Safeway frozen pie crust was of my own creation. The only thing I did differently was that I substituted Earth Balance (butter substitute) for the butter. I really do think that Earth Balance makes everything taste better, so dotting the pie crust AND the fruit with melted EB makes a difference. I highly recommend this recipe. It's so easy too! Carol, you rule!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
My hubby says this tastes just like his grandmothers! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States