Blackberry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I made this pie and took it too a party...it was a HUGE hit! they said I should enter it in the county fair! I used fresh home grown blackberries, but I used a store bought crust. for the flour, I put in 1/3 cup instead of 3 tablespoons. this got it to be a bit less runny. I tried it again but made my own crust and it was also very good. TIP: let the pie sit in your fridge overnight to thicken up before eating. it is a lot less runny that way. otherwise, VERY nice pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This was an awesome pie. I had never had a blackberry pie and happened to have a bucket of blackberries needing a purpose. This has been added to my family cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Very good! I added more flour, as others had suggested, still a little runny. I think I'll do cornstarch next time. Also cut sugar to 3/4 c. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I've made this recipe quite a few times and it always turns out spectacular. The pie never seems to last more than a day..two at the most and it's only me and my husband. We can't stop eating it. I usually eyeball the ingredients(adding a little more flour if the berries are fresh and extra juicy) I also use Splenda instead of sugar. I've always used the Pillsbury pie dough (very easy) and the only thing I do differently is to wash the top with a little half and half and sprinkle with brown sugar (a little more that a tsp) over the top crust. I've also used a mixture of frozen berries (sometimes assorted) with fresh if I come up short on the amount needed to fill the pie tin. Always turns out perfect! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
My family wanted a quick New Year's Eve pie to ring in 2008, and this one exceeded our expectations. I modified the following: I split the berry quantity to include blackberries and raspberries, added 1 tablespoon corn starch, and omitted the butter. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Delicious. I made with fresh-picked wild blackberries. We were low on sugar, so I used half the recipe amount... so the pie tasted almost like pure berries. Yum. The sweetness is subtle enough even for breakfast. Total hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Yummmy yumm yum! It's blackberry season and I love making pies. This pie turned out great, though I added extra flour and a little vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarai Bee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
My husband mentioned that he wanted a blackberry pie, so I surprised him with this tonight. He followed his nose into the kitchen, lured by the yummy smells coming from the oven and he enjoyed a hearty slice with some vanilla bean ice cream. Happy man - my work here is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Very good pie! I added a couple extra tablespoons of flour. I think I should have added some extra sugar, as the pie wasn't as sweet as some would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
GREAT blackberry pie. I didn't change the recipe at all, and I'de never made a fruit pie before, and it still turned out wonderfully! Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOrganic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States