Blackberry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Wow- this is a good pie. Very simple. Baking time was right on for me, but I did add a little bit more flour, on the suggestion of other reviewers. It's not the sweetest pie ever but I love that. You could always sweeten it up with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream. Great recipe I'll make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Such an easy and yummy pie! I had barely 4 cups of berries, and the pie was a little wimpy - I think 5 cups would be better. I'd also recommend paying attention to your berries. Mine were a little off-season, so they weren't very juicy and I had no problem with the pie being runny. On the other hand, they were a little tart, so I wish I had used a little more sugar. As far as the baking goes, I was nervous when it started turning golden after the first 15 minutes (at the higher temp), but I kept a close eye on it, and added foil for the last 20 and it made it the whole 35 at the lower temp. Someone told me that when the berry juice/goo starts bubbling up through the slits that it is done. **EDIT: I also made this recipe into mini-pies in my muffin pan, a 3/4 batch made 12 pies, cooked 10 min at 400, then 30 min at 350 - great for a picnic because you don't have to worry about slicing and serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Griffin10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This pie tasted great, but it was really runny despite adding 2 extra tablespoons of flour. As a regular pie-baker, I was disappointed, but I will try the recipe again with either more flour or cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I made the 4 Tbsp flour change, as suggested. I also added a dash more lemon juice and some cinnamon. The pie came out beautifully, and firmed up nicely by the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shell Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I followed the recipe as stated, except I forgot to add the TBSP. of butter (did not miss it). This turned out perfect!!! Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This is an amazing pie! I used it with the "Best Ever Pie Crust" recipe. I put in half the amount of sugar (I don't like really sweet pie), extra blackberries and it came out perfect. I'll make this one again. Thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This was a very tasty pie . . . but then what blackberry pie isn't tasty? Unfortunately, my pie didn't set up very well and was quite runny (a problem I've never had with other blackberry pie recipes). I'm probably to blame, as I was very generous in my measuring of the blackberries and should have probably thrown in an extra tablespoon of flour to compensate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This is the first time I've made a blackberry pie. The only thing I did differently (after reading the reviews) was add 1 Tbsp. of cornstarch and l/2 tsp. of cinnamon to the berries. It turned out beautifully and my husband raved about it. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
this is a great recipe, but i agree that it is too runny. I took out a little of the flour and put in about a half cup of instant tapioca. this helped the liquid at the bottom, as long as the pie is given at least a half hour to 45 minutes to cool. the flavor is still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States