Blackberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
It was good but rather runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Really good recipe! I used beaten egg on the bottom of the crust and over the top and the crust turned out PERFECT, homemade is the way to go! Lattice top crust cooks the berries perfectly and you get LOTS of compliments ;). However, more sugar can be used, especially if you let the kids pick the blackberries. If you like your blackberry pie especially tart then 1/2 sugar is the right amount. I would go with about 1 - 1 1/2 cups of sugar according to your personal preference. Other than that, I loved the pie with some vanilla ice cream! The tartness of the pie was lessened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sydneyyrae_

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I made this today and I must say I am very happy with the way it turned out. Few notes: I brushed egg on the bottom as others suggested also I added 1tsp lemon juice and 1tsp vanilla end result was out of this world sets up really well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Simple and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Caldwell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This was just ok. I thought it was a little dry and someone else did too at our party. Maybe I was expecting it to taste like cobbler, but I would have preferred it to be more juicy. (several people suggested I make cobbler next time) The blackberries were delicious, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I made this recipe as written and wound up with too much flour/sugar and no boilage on the filling during baking. The result was a pie with beautiful crust but the interior had clumps if sugar/flour throughout, visually unappealing, problematic when you get a bite of berry and a chunk of flour. I think it was on the right track for a good basic recipe but I found the "what to do ifs" in the comments after I made the pie, and those changed this to another recipe. Nonetheless, I was glad to try it, thank you for posting Michelle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
This recipe was so easy and came out perfect.. thank you.. Everyone loved it... The blackberries came from my garden so made it even more special.. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This is my first pie baking experience, so I guess it turned out ok. It was not very sweet, even after I added a 1/4 cup of sugar. The seed thing was an issue for me. Perhaps next time I will blend the blackberries and attempt to strain out some of the seeds. I don't know, perhaps I will try frozen, maybe the seeds are softened by the freezing process? I did not use 1/4 cup of sugar on top, just a sprinkle, and replaced the milk with egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States