Blackberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I don't usually like pie all that much (definitely a cake person). But it was Pi day and so I made this recipe for my fiance. I took people's recommendations about adding a 1/4 cup more sugar, eliminating the milk, dotting with butter, and brushing egg on the bottom and top layers of crust. Absolutely great advice. The pie turned out to be fantastic! The pie actually tasted even better the next day after it had plenty of time to cool and the flavors melded. I guess I have to start saying I love pie too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This pie is very good! I used frozen berries and added a TBS of chopped cold butter before putting on the top crust and the filling was not runny at all. After brushing some milk on the crust I only sprinkled about 1 1/2 tsp. of sugar on top. I cut the recipe in half and prepared it in a small 4 serving glass pie plate and it was just right for dessert for a couple of night for hubby and I. I also prepared Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust and it was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walkingfit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This is a wonderful easy recipe! I made my pie with frozen blackberries and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
The pie was great! I followed the directions almost exactly, and the pie held up very well. As per the recommendations of other raters, I brushed the bottom and top crust with egg before placing the pie in the oven. Overall, pie was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
My mother loved it! I thawed out frozen berries. Bake time was 15 extra minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving and it got RAVE reviews. I used 6 cups of berries and baked at 375 for the entire time. Also, in the video it suggests using an egg wash on the bottom crust so that it does not become soggy. I highly recommend as I didn't do that the first time I made it. Made it for the second time two days after Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Excellent, but definitely needs to be cooked longer to thicken up. Cover with tinfoil to prevent burning crust and cook another 35mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan O.
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
We have blackberry bushes so I make this pie every year. The recipe 'ingredients' (what goes into the pie) are perfect; right amount of sweetness and consistency is spot on. The only reason I couldn't give it 5 stars was 1) I have to brush the bottom of the pie crust with egg white to keep it from getting soggy and 2) the amount of sugar used on top was too much for us. I usually just sprinkle and 'eyeball' it, I'd say no more than 1 1/2T. BUT this pie (with the slight mods) gets rave reviews and is a summer favorite for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hoot31b

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I doubled the recipe and made a large cobbler. My only changes were a squeezed lemon on top of the berries. I love the fact that it held its' shape when cut. Fruit pies that are too soupy do NOT please me. I used 2 one pound bags of frozen blackberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States