Blackberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Nice tasting pie. Paired this with "Flaky Food Processor Pie Crust" from this site and wow'ed friends at game night. Follower the recipe pretty close. I just sugared all the berries in one bowl with the flour and used an egg wash instead of the milk. I also only used about a tablespoon of sugar on top. One other thing I did, was to add a little lemon juice to the frozen berries to brighten up the flavor a bit. Nice to cut a piece of berry pie and not have all the filling run out into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
An awesome recipe! My husband and I loved this pie. We brushed the bottom crust with eggs as others suggested and added butter on top of the berrries and skipped the milk all together. I think next time I'll had a smidge more sugar, but other wise really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cjai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This is a foolproof way to bake blackberry pie. I have used this recipe several times, and it always comes out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Great recipe but I ended up having to back this much longer than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeaneDrake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeview, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Londonderry, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
The pie tastes great! It was my first time making pie ever and it turned out amazing! Only thing I didn't like was that you're supposed to add to much milk to the top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Very delicious yet simple recipe for blackberry pie. The blackberry seeds were a little crunchy; not sure what can be done about this unless the blackberries, flour, and sugar are cooked a little beforehand on the stove to soften them up some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I've made this several times -- it ALWAYS works well! I use fresh blackberries, and usually add an extra 1/2 - 1 cup or so to make a nice big pie. The only "tweak" I've ever done is to squeeze some fresh lemon over it -- about 1/4 of a fresh lemon. That's totally optional though, and this pie tastes fine regardless. Brushing the milk and sprinkling sugar over the top makes it look beautiful; again, optional but in this case I do think it makes a difference in terms of visual appeal! I've gotten rave reviews every time I've made this -- so simple, so easy, so YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
So easy and so delicious! Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Ths pie came out great! The filling was not too runny and was just the right amount of sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaimie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This pie tasted really good, however, I wish the recipe said something in it about blending in the sugar and flour until you can't see it, or perhaps smashing a few of the berries to absorb some of the flour/sugar. My pie came out with a few spots of flour showing. It tasted delicious though, so it wasn't a huge problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States