Blackberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
My Father-in-law loved this pie.. but I was wondering if anyone knows if the filling can be made ahead and then canned? Thanks for any ideas I can get if you or someone you know has done this please let me know and if there are any little tricks I need to know
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Made a few adjustments based on other reviews, and it turned out GREAT! Not runny at all and just the right amount of sweetness. May make another — the blackberries along our woods just keep coming! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Robesonia, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clinton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Made this pie and it turned out very well. I did substitute tapioca for flour. I used 1 Tbs tapioca for every cup of berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
It was good but rather runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Really good recipe! I used beaten egg on the bottom of the crust and over the top and the crust turned out PERFECT, homemade is the way to go! Lattice top crust cooks the berries perfectly and you get LOTS of compliments ;). However, more sugar can be used, especially if you let the kids pick the blackberries. If you like your blackberry pie especially tart then 1/2 sugar is the right amount. I would go with about 1 - 1 1/2 cups of sugar according to your personal preference. Other than that, I loved the pie with some vanilla ice cream! The tartness of the pie was lessened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sydneyyrae_

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I made this today and I must say I am very happy with the way it turned out. Few notes: I brushed egg on the bottom as others suggested also I added 1tsp lemon juice and 1tsp vanilla end result was out of this world sets up really well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Simple and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Caldwell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This was just ok. I thought it was a little dry and someone else did too at our party. Maybe I was expecting it to taste like cobbler, but I would have preferred it to be more juicy. (several people suggested I make cobbler next time) The blackberries were delicious, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I made this recipe as written and wound up with too much flour/sugar and no boilage on the filling during baking. The result was a pie with beautiful crust but the interior had clumps if sugar/flour throughout, visually unappealing, problematic when you get a bite of berry and a chunk of flour. I think it was on the right track for a good basic recipe but I found the "what to do ifs" in the comments after I made the pie, and those changed this to another recipe. Nonetheless, I was glad to try it, thank you for posting Michelle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States