Blackberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
It was great I pick my own berries and I was only able to fit the 3 1/2 cups of berries which was fine and the first time it was a little tart so I added another half cup of sugar to the filling and it made it just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Went out to pick 4 cups of blackberries and followed the recipe. Easy. In the oven now as my wife is taking nap. It will be done and cooling before she even knows it. Yes I cleaned the kitchen up. Not bad for a guy who didn't take home economics . LOL. Blackberries are in abundance out here in Washington State. Regards, Robert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
After reading the reviews I hope I didn't over do it with the milk and sugar on top. I have never done this particular variation before. I picked the blackberries with my grandsons, as my grandmother did with me many moons ago. I have the pot she always used to pick her berries in. If you fill up the pot it will make two blackberry pies. I can't describe what it means to me to bring my grand kids with me to pick berries using the same pot she did. I don't know when this sort of thing started to mean so much to me but it really does make me happy and proud to know how to make blackberry pies the way she did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by whoey21
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I absolutely love this recipe. It is very easy to make and it tastes wonderful. I have a ton of wild blackberry bushes around my house that I use to make this recipe and it always turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This was incredibly easy. I substituted all brown sugar for the white sugar and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie Mills
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
To be perfectly honest I am no domestic goddess but this recipe was so simple and easy to follow that I made my first blackberry pie. It was absolutely delicious and I can wait to make my next one. Was a bit suspicious about why flour was added but realised that this was to thicken the juice :) Brilliant. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Mills

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
omg this recipe rocks. I've made a lot of pie's but I have to say this turned out to be the best blackberry pie I ever made. I used my own pie crust but this is worth putting it in my recipe box. thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Worked perfectly. I've tried it with cinnamon and different mixing methods (gently mixing berries with the sugar and flour, or mashing it into more of a liquid). The cinnamon is a good addition, but I'd recommend gently mixing the berries and to avoid mashing them up as much as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devin Dignam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Great Recipe. I added butter and lemon juice on top of the berries. I also brushed the crust with a little bit of beaten egg. Again great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Tried this with some blackberries we picked from our backyard last week. I used frozen pie shells, added some lemon juice to the top of the berries before I covered them with the crust and brushed some egg on top instead of milk. My kids loved it. They might just go back and pick some more berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Connelly
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States