Blackberry Peach Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
The blackberry absolutely makes this pie. I used fresh peach, 1 carton of fresh blackberry (all the store had left) and half frozen. I had a lot of juice left over in the mixture, I did not put this in the pie crust. I also put the cinnamon and nutmeg sprinkled on the fruit before covering it and then another light sprinkle on the top crust. Make sure to line your oven, mine went everywhere, depite the lack of juice kept out. Excellant though. I'd make this again in a heart beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNANGEL719

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Good pie!! I used Splenda instead of sugar and cooked the filling first. My grandma always cooks her blackberries before puting them in her pies so I did the same. I mixed the blackberries, peaches, corn starch and splenda in a large pan over medium heat until warm. I left as much of the resulting liquid out as possible. I also mixed in a little cinnamon and nutmeg into the filling as well as adding some to the crust after buttered. Turned out great. Not too liquidy. Next time I will cover the perimeter with foil. My outer crust got a little too browened in that first 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This is wonderful. I had blueberries to use so I substituted those for the blackberries. I added 1 T. sugar to the spices to sprinkle on top. I also increased the corn starch to 4 T. I made my crust with 3 c. flour, 1 t. salt, 1 c. chilled butter, 6-8 T ice water. Instead of trimming the edges I folded the bottom dough over the top dough and crimped together. It took longer to bake than what is directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
This recipe was a hit at my house! I had to make some changes (My pie crust was already cooked). It has a great aroma and it is delicious! Thanks for sharing this recipe! It was the only blackberry peach pie recipe I could find on here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I have just started learning to bake and have surprised myself, as well as everyone I know! I have made this pie 5 or 6 times this summer to take to parties, give as gifts, or have at home. The crust looks so amazing and has a nice rich flavor combined with the fresh fruit which creates a step back in time for many people...and they think I'm amazing!! I've used raspberries, blackberries, and blueberries, and I personally prefer the blueberry/peach version. Thank you for a super easy, super fresh, beautiful pie that even a novice can handle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was excellent! I didn't have fresh peaches so I substituted canned. My family all most consumed the entire pie in one sitting. I will make it again with real peaches. My husband said,"I am buying fresh blackberries again if this is what happens to them. I don't care how much they were."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAINTNMYNAILS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I have made this pie twice, using frozen peaches and blackberries and both times it turned out terrible. The problem is too much liquid. The second time I made it I doubled the cornstarch to 6 Tbs. and still terribly liquidy. I'm scratching this recipe because of this problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
We picked fresh blackberries at a nearby farm, where we also got the peaches, and used this recipe to make one of two July 4th desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenenski Family
Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I had friends over for dinner, and everyone loved this. I used frozen thawed blackberries and canned peaches, and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I used four 7 oz. Del Monte cocktail cups of blueberries and blackberries in juice. After straining all of the juices out it cut down the total amount of fruit to about half what the recipe calls for. This ended up working out very well since the sugar breaks down the dark fruits, extracting plenty of rich and delicious juice. I think making up the difference with peaches rather than berries will make for a better ratio next time. 4 peaches and 1.5 - 2 c. berries. I also cut the top crust into 3/4" strips and did a lattice, which looked just lovely - and tasted just as wonderful. So, cut the berries in half and add a peach and you'll be all set!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States