Blackberry Peach Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This is a great combination of fruits! I made it as a pie last year and am just waiting for peaches to be a bit more in season to make it this year, maybe as a cobbler or "crumble."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Really good and a big hit with the family. I probably added more corn starch than required because I put heaping tablespoons in the mix so I didn't find this runny like some reviews' mentioned. But a note of warning: I did have to put a sheet pan on the bottom of the oven because some of the juices did spill over when it was baking. It was so easy to make and a delicious solution to the fresh blackberries my mom gave me. (I got sick of always making jam from them) I'm making this again very soon especially since I've got requests to make this for my in-laws and other relatives. Thank you for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Good pie!! I used Splenda instead of sugar and cooked the filling first. My grandma always cooks her blackberries before puting them in her pies so I did the same. I mixed the blackberries, peaches, corn starch and splenda in a large pan over medium heat until warm. I left as much of the resulting liquid out as possible. I also mixed in a little cinnamon and nutmeg into the filling as well as adding some to the crust after buttered. Turned out great. Not too liquidy. Next time I will cover the perimeter with foil. My outer crust got a little too browened in that first 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This pie was a big hit! I've made it several times and got raving reviews each time! I made it sugar-free by substituting "Splenda for Cooking" in place of the sugar and it worked perfectly! I've had several people ask for the recipe! Best with fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I have made this pie twice, using frozen peaches and blackberries and both times it turned out terrible. The problem is too much liquid. The second time I made it I doubled the cornstarch to 6 Tbs. and still terribly liquidy. I'm scratching this recipe because of this problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Amazing pie!! My whole family loved it. I used slightly more fruit than called for because I like a lot of fruit; I used 6 small peaches and 4 cups blackberries (3 of the containers from the store). I used 3/4 C Splenda in place of the sugar. Also, I used "Pie Crust III" from this website to make the crust (it's a healthier crust with canola oil, and I use white whole wheat flour in it). Looking forward to making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Our new all time favorite, don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. I visited a local orchard and picked fresh blackberries for the recipe. The greatest part is that blackberries and peaches are in season at the same time therefor you can have a truly fresh homemade pie. My only only complaint was the seeds. Blackberries are very seedy and you will get a lot of them stuck in your teeth. The taste was great. I think I may try the recipe with blueberries and see if it is equally good/w out the seeds. Also a side note: This was my first pie with a homemade crust (French Pastry Pie Crust from this site) and I would highly, highly recommend it. Not only is it rewarding making a pie entirely from scratch, but majorly delicious. Its easier than it seems and there are lots of helpful suggestions from reviews to help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankinjessie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This was amazing. I used a little less sugar (about a quarter of called for) because I don't like over sweet pies, and although I LOVED it and was true fruit flavored, the recipes amount probably would have been just fine, thus 5 stars. Wonderful! Love the "glaze" over the top crust, made it special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpioneermom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
First fruit pie I've ever made...turned out fantastic and was GONE in one meal!! You will love it! My wife (who doesn't like any pie except apple and pumpkin, and my sweet potato) said it was the BEST PIE SHE EVER HAD in her life!!! woo hoo, great recipe! Use firm peaches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shicks4Christ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States