Blackberry Peach Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Delicious! Love the way the sweetness of the peaches plays against the tart of the berries. This combo is way better than either alone, and the recipe couldn't be easier. I've been canning peaches for days and wanted to do something with a few fresh ones. Had a few blackberries still hanging on the back pasture fenceline, so seemed like a perfect match! I increased the cornstarch to 4T, as recommended by other reviewers. Still a juicy mess in my oven, but thanks to other reviews, I was warned to put foil down and that did contain it. I'm gonna make another one tonight and might try cooking the fruit, sugar and cornstarch (SureGel!) on the stove for a few min and letting it gel up a bit, then toss it in the crust. Will report back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mama Mia's Cakes
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This was a good recipe. I did make a couple of changes after reading the reviews. I upped the cornstarch to 4 tbsp and didn't have the problem with it being too runny, but it did overflow in the oven so line the rack with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Mia's Cakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This recipe tasted great, although the instructions should include that to seal the dough for the crust, you should dampen the edges with a bit of water. This will prevent the pieces from separating while baking. Otherwise, it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I used four 7 oz. Del Monte cocktail cups of blueberries and blackberries in juice. After straining all of the juices out it cut down the total amount of fruit to about half what the recipe calls for. This ended up working out very well since the sugar breaks down the dark fruits, extracting plenty of rich and delicious juice. I think making up the difference with peaches rather than berries will make for a better ratio next time. 4 peaches and 1.5 - 2 c. berries. I also cut the top crust into 3/4" strips and did a lattice, which looked just lovely - and tasted just as wonderful. So, cut the berries in half and add a peach and you'll be all set!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I should probably blame the cook for this one. I followed the recipe almost exactly. I used fresh fruit and a store-bought crust. The refrigerated pie crust fell apart when I tried to shape it. Since I wasn't able to seal the crumbly pie crust, the liquid boiled over into the oven mostly. The blackberries and peaches tasted a little odd together to me. I like them both separately. I probably will not make this again, but if I do I will use a frozen pie crust or make my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This pie was delicious. Just the right amount of sweetness and tartness. Best pie I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by htillison
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Every year we get fresh peaches and blackberries from our local orchard and every year I look for a recipe to combine them into a fresh tasty summer dessert. I'm glad to finally have found the one I'll stick with! I made this for a family gathering where desserts are always plenty. It was a hit and was gobbled up before all the others! We served with a big glob of cool whip on top. Can't wait to try this with homemade crusts and real whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by htillison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Simple, clean flavors, really easy and delicious. I have slightly large ceramic pie plates so I increased the filling by about 20% but the cook time didn't change. The berries were very sweet so I also reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This pie turned out heavenly!!! My family really enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing, this one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nidda

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This is a great combination of fruits! I made it as a pie last year and am just waiting for peaches to be a bit more in season to make it this year, maybe as a cobbler or "crumble."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States