Blackberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Taking into consideration all of the comments about dryness and density, these are the changes I made: 1 cup buttermilk instead of milk, 1/4 cup cooking oil for the butter and 2 eggs instead of one. I used 3/4 cup oatmeal and whole wheat flour. For the spices I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp salt and added cinnamon chips. It made 28 muffins that were moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sand Springs, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Added about 2 tbsp of honey, just to moisten them up a little more and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
kids love them. I found them kinda bland, leave out the fruit and wound make a fine bran type muffin. maybe try blueberries instead of blackberries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brent Dahle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I used thawed blackberries, whole wheat pastry flour, and doubled the pumpkin pie seasoning...they all worked great. Based on the reviews that said the muffins were dry, I made my own modifications. I used hot water in place of milk, quick oats in place of rolled, and grapeseed oil in place of butter. My muffins turned out flavorful and moist...I will make these again soon! Another reviewer suggested adding some chocolate chips...I did, because who doesn't like chocolate chips? I won't add chocolate chips to these again...they detracted from the blackberries which were great on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
They were okay. They were dry enough the next day that I didn't want to eat them. And I feel that I added too much oatmeal. These muffins need something else, I just can't figure out what.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Electra76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Made this last night- house smelled amazing when cooking. I did hesitate like others about the oats since we light fluffy muffins so I only added 1/2 cup. The overall verdict in out house was they were a bit too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Very good, whole family liked these better than traditional muffins. I omitted the pumpkin pie spice as I did not have any on hand, but will try it next time. I also used mixed berries (raspberries, blueberries, strawberries, blackberries).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Petty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Good use for the first blackberries of the season. I added a bit more black berries and cut down a bit on the sugar ... really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Great flavor. Not too sweet, and the oatmeal really added to this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by megane
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Tastes really good! Made it today. Very tasty! May want to add more brown sugar though and more milk; I had to add a cup more to the original 1 cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States