Blackberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Okay this recipe is super easy. I cut in in half to use for the blackberry pork loin recipe on this site after a trip to the farmers market and a great deal on blackberries. You have to be okay with the seeds of course..I was unsure about the cinnamon but figured what the heck and am glad I included it. I subbed freshly ground nutmeg for the allspice because I had it on hand but otherwise I followed the directions (halving the cooking time to reflect the reduced amount. Thanks, this will be repeated :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aurora Mandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Used this recipe for blueberry jam. It came out great. My first attempt at making jam. I used 10 cups of fresh berries and ended up with six 8oz jars of delicious jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This is the first jam/jelly that I have ever made and it was to die for. My 5yo son, who is very picky when it comes to blackberries or any other berry for that matter, ate it the most. Thank you for sharing this with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This is a great recipe, Omitted the spices though. Will try with Strawberries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Tried this out on cultivated blackberries we planted, these berries that we harvested last summer and frozen. I pulled them out, did the recipe 1.5x without the spices as, we prefer the fresh fruit flavor. I am trying this trick that, I saw on another jam recipe. The said once you filled your jar and topped it with a canning lid to place upside down for 10 minutes to seal the jar. I did that, but am still sticking it in the freezer, as I reused my lid, and it didn't seem to have that sealed look about it. Just hedging my bets. With 6 cups of berries, I made 2 pints of jam. One in the freezer and one in the fridge for immediate use. Very easy! My fist time making blackberry jam on my own. Will get legit about next summer as we have fields of wild blackberries at my work site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrownSugar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Calistoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Made this after picking fresh berries this summer. Turned out great. Only thing I did different is strain out the seeds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Great for a first time jam maker! Simple ingredients and easy preparation that make for an impressive finished product. For the first batch I didn't add the spices. In the second batch I added the cinnamon....AWESOME. This recipe is a keeper. If you've never made jam, start here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Alizah
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Best Blackberry Jam I've ever had and that's saying something. I strained the juice from the pulp because I wanted to make the Blackberry Barbecue Sauce from this site that called for blackberry preserves. Worked out amazingly. I thought this on vanilla icecream would be outstanding. Thanks so much for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Loved this recipe! I made two batches - one following the recipe, and one omitting the allspice and cinnamon and instead adding a tsp. vanilla (based on reviews). For both batches, I also substituted 1/2 cup Truvia for the 1 cup of sugar. I liked the original recipe much better! The allspice and cinnamon gave the jam a unique taste that is perfect over ice cream! I'm going to try freezing some and see how that turns out....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
First time making jam since helping my Grandmother 30 years ago, and WOW! I did core the berries first by using a drinking straw. But other then that, I stuck to the recipe and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States