Blackberry Jam Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
We aren't huge on cake eating here so I like to take cake recipes and make cupcakes - we like them much better! That was what I did to this recipe. I did cut the recipe in half and made a few changes. It sounds like from the reviews this recipe is pretty good to start so because I did make it with some changes I am giving it a rating of 4. I reduced the amount of allspice and cloves. The amount just seemed too much for our preference. I also made my own buttermilk with sour cream, apple cider vinegar and a little bit of almond milk. To frost I made a blackberry buttercream by adding blackberry jam to the buttercream I was making. Turned out pretty good - and I will definitely be sharing at the office tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Made this yesterday and is was delicious. Only problem was jam seemed to settle at the bottom of pan and was hard to get out. Any suggestion as to what I did wrong. Over mixed in jam?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Jo Ann's recipe is similar to my mom's. This cake is better when made ahead of time. After it has cooled completely, wrap tightly in foil and store in a cool place for several days. The cake will become very moist. It can also be placed in the freezer, then thawed in the foil wrap. It should be rewrapped after cutting and stored in a cool place or the fridge. We serve it with whipped cream or just by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nitro, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This is my first experience with any kind of jam cake, and I must say I'm mightily happy. Based on observations of other reviewers who said this cake was "dry" I added a 1/4 c of vegetable oil, and also added 1 c of raisins. I cooked this in a bundt pan for 55 minutes. Cake is delightfully moist and full of spicy aroma and flavor. It doesn't need any kind of frosting, though I suppose a little powdered sugar would be a nice addition. Thank you for this lovely submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
This was ok. It was a bit dry for my taste - I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Not very moist, but still very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I thought it was a little dry. I might add more jam, more milk, or use slightly less flour the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
I forwarded this recipie to my Mom, who made it for "cards with the girls." It was a smash hit! She added some of the jam to the frosting for flavor and color. A hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States