Blackberry Jam Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I used 1 cup of orange marmalade instead of the blackberry jam. Turned out Delicious. It did sink in the middle as someone else mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sobugg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I like that the chocolate is subtle. The blackberry was also subtle and I wish that flavor had come out more - that's one reason I picked the recipe. It was OK but nothing really exciting. I think I'd probably prefer like a spice cake or something. I did not use any frosting at all because I don't like super sweet things and the cake is enough. (And I don't think caramel would have been very good.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Did not care for the flavor. It tasted rather odd, especially with the caramel frosting. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I have this recipe from my Grandmother and I have never made it because I couldn't figure out what it meant by (sour) milk!!! Thanks so much! I think I'll make it for Christmas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This is a very moist and tasty cake. I didn't really notice the chocolate flavor so much. I used homemade blackberry jam I made earlier this summer. I did notice the larger pieces of fruit in the jam did migrate to the bottom, but the cake itself took on a slightly purple hue from the preserves. One negative for me was that the cake didn't rise in the center. I'm not sure if this was due to the amount of mixing to incorporate all of the ingredients. I did make half the recipe and baked it in an 8" square pan. It tested done at 40 minutes despite the sunken center. I topped this with Caramel Frosting III.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Nice light, chocolate flavor to the cake and moist. When I made it the jam settled to the bottom while baking. Does anyone have any ideas for preventing that? Next time I make it I'll also try adding a half teaspoon of cinnamon or nutmeg to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Just made this recipe and it's out of this world! Moist and delicious! It will be one I make over and over again! I too use the berry fusion by jello and it's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Beard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thompsons Station, Tennessee, USA
Living In: College Grove, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2007
Great recipe! I used blueberry preserves in the place of blackberry and iced it with Caramel Frosting III- delicious! I baked the cake in miniature springform pans (reduced baking time to 35-40 minutes), and it worked very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
My aunt makes the best homemade blackberry preserves. I use her jam to make my jam cakes. But this recipe will definitely be used again. I took it to work and it went quickly. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States