Blackberry Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Just made this using Sure-Jell low sugar pectin and it set up before the second boil was even reached! Also I got almost 7 half pints not the 4 1/2 as the recipe says. I added an extra jalapeno but definitely could have added even more for more pepper flavor and heat. Came out looking pretty and very tasty!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATLIZJAMESETHAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Excellent recipe. I added a third jalapeno pepper, and I'm quite glad I did. Next time I'll add a fourth. I left out all the pepper seeds though. For me, this gave enough jam for 7 half pint jars, not five as the recipe states. Might want to have extra on hand in case!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
RASBERRY JALAPENO JAM - I had quite a few rasberries picked and wanted to make some jam for Christmas gifts - could find no receipe at all so went rogue - followed the receipe on MCP Pectin sheet for rasberry jam, added 6 pretty hot jalapeno's and boy is it great - for a milder jam, add fewer peppers or milder ones. I have discovered it's all in the heat of the pepper. BLACKBERRY JALAPENO JELLY - I followed the receipe - I used 3 jalapeno's - all green with seeds and all - nice kick! It jelled up even before it finished cooling. Used blackberry juice I had juiced the week before - pretty color - can't wait to try with cream cheese. I will use this receipe again! Thanks! (Instead of processing, I turn boiling hot jars upside down for 1-2 minutes, then turn right side up and within 1/2 hour they all sealed.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Love this recipe. Had no trouble with it setting. I did find however that you have to let it boil a bit longer than the recipe reccomends for it to set. Be sure to test it on a cold plate before putting into jars and you won't go wrong. Served this at my mom's birthday party to a discriminating crowd and people were swooning. Delicious with chevre on crackers! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This was my first attempt at any jam/jelly/ preserve and I'm so glad I picked this one!!! This is an INCREDIBLE recipe! I followed the recipe with 2 large peppers, but I mashed whole berries and seived half of them to eliminate some of the seeds instead of juicing them (my prefrence). After reading the reviews about it not setting up well, I decided once I added the 3 1/2 cups of sugar, to bring it back to boil and set a timer to let it rolling boil for 5 full minutes. I used the cold plate test and it was beautifully set!!! The 2 large peppers are perfect heat for me and I love spicy foods. I yielded 6 half pints! Thank you for sharing this awesome recipe!!! I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teresarenee
Living In: Lewisburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Sooooo easy and pretty! Shared this with a friend that grows the most sour blackberries I've ever tasted. This recipes worked great and her jelly turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Gingerbreadgirlz, I could kiss you!!!! Well maybe a Hug since we have not been introduced. I have been looking for something like this for quite awhile... I usually was able to get something simular to this made by Dantes Inferno from the big boxed stores...I will definately give this a whirl. Thank You Sooo much again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
It was SO good!!! A must. I might add a extra jalapeño next time, we like spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This is an AWESOME recipe. The taste is wonderfully sweet and spicy at the same time. my family likes a little spice so i would recommend adding another 1-2 jalepenos. Some reviews said that they had a hard time getting it to set, after adding the 3 1/2 cups sugar i brought it to a hard boil for 2-3 minutes and it set without a problem. Thank you for the recipe it will be one that i use regulary!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgarner4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I had 5 cups of blackberry purée & I used 5 Tbs of low sugar pectin and a total of 1.5 cups sugar. I used 2 jalapeno & 2 serrano peppers. I heeded the advice of others and cooked it for about 6 minutes. It turned out great, but wish I'd made it a little spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States