Blackberry Fool Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Previous reviewers are all idiots.... ingredients are spot on! I only rated it 4 stars because it didn't have ENOUGJ sour cream.... I substituted creme fraichhe, which was oh so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I started out with fresh blackberries so I had to be a tad creative and I was trying to keep the sugars down so I used about 3/4 of a cup of water and simmered the berries until they gave way to my angled masher. 16 + or - powdered sweetener and a drip of honey. I made the fresh whipped cream and added the 'fool' and stirred streaks through it - nice presentation. I will make this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valley City, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
What a simple, yet elegant dessert! This was so easy to put together and tasted really good. I used a combination of blackberries and raspberries. I opted to use vanilla instead of almond extract for the cream mixture and tossed the berries in just a bit of regular sugar vs. confectioners' sugar. I left off the mint and chose to garnish these with just the lemon zest - overall, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
pretty good. but i would have never made this if i looked at the fat content first! i didnt like the sour cream tasste so much. prob could skip that part. tasted pretty sweet to me, others said it wasnt sweet to them. i used freshed berries out of my yard. i would make this again. but other suggestions i think would be good and lower the fat content would be to have a lil layer of yogurt in it. i think also would be good if you had a lil layer of graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
With all the ingredients ready and waiting right at my fingertips I devilishly made this for breakfast this morning. I used both blackberries and raspberries but rather than mixing the berries with powdered sugar I thought it would be even better to mix them with leftover homemade raspberry sauce! It was easy, quick, fresh and delicious and very pretty in little parfait glasses. I mean, who doesn't like berries and cream? However, while it was only a small amount, I would have preferred this without the sour cream, which provided just enough tang to make it not as pleasantly sweet as just simple whipped cream - it was a step and ingredient that didn't necessarily make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I guess I am odd man out here, as all other reviewers enjoyed the dessert. I followed the directions exactly, but most of my guests and I found the dessert bland. It looked nice and had a pleasant mousse-like texture, but the taste was really uninteresting. I much prefer the Lemon Lime Mousse recipe on this website, for a refreshing, light dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TAMAREE
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Good, sweet and simple whipped cream. Not too sweet though, so the flavor of fresh berries is not overpowered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMAREE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Out here in the desert, one doesn't come by fresh berries easily, especially in the market where the only edible berries are on the top layer! But I'll try this subbing mango and peaches, which seem to import better, drizzled with a little Grand Marnier - thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Oh, Yum! Who wouldn't love this. It makes such an elegant dessert and it's so easy to assemble. Definitely go with the fresh fruit as the submitter suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John’s Peach Blackberry Flognarde

A fruity baked dessert with a funny name and a secret savory surprise.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States