Blackberry Balsamic Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This was pretty good, as well as fast and not having too many ingredients. I used 1 tsp dried thyme in place of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
With some minor changes (that's just me) I LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Flying Wizard
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Very easy and quick. I loved the subtle, sweet herb flavor. The chicken breast was very tender and cooked just right. The sauce (more of a glaze, actually) added a nice depth and looked great drizzled on the chicken. I used 1 tsp of dried lemon thyme in place of fresh, but followed everything else exactly. I didn't need the cornstarch, as I thought the sauce reduced quite nicely. A wonderful blend of flavors, which went very well with a nice salad and herbed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flying Wizard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Very good and a perfect weeknight option - it wasn't as complex as I would have liked, but that was more than compensated for by how fast and easy it was to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This was a great new dish! I was looking for a new chicken recipe and found this. I scaled back on the thyme a tad and ended up making more of the blackberry sauce and let it thicken a bit longer after cooking the chicken. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
1 star for flavor, there just wasn't enough for me. I tasted much more thyme than berry, and the sauce was very bland. However, i did use a no-sugar fruit spread and that could have played a big part. If you're planning on trying this recipe, be sure not to make that mistake. I had leftover chicken, but invented my own sauce the next day and was much more pleased......here's what i came up with: 1 TB balsamic vinegar, 2 TB ketchup, 1/2 cup chicken stock, 1/2 cup no-sugar berry spread, 1 1/2 tsp sugar, 1/4 tsp onion powder, 1/4 tsp garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste, 1/4 water + 1/2 TB cornstarch. As you can see, this is really not true at all to the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I am a beginner cook, and found this recipe extremely easy and delicious. I served the chicken on top of rice, with the sauce poured over it. My entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This chicken was fantastic, the only change I made was to season the chicken breasts with garlic and salt & pepper prior to browning. The sauce was a perfect blend of flavors, the balsamic did not overpower the balckberry as I thought it might. I can't wait to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MammaC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Followed exact recipe. It was ok, but I probably won't make it again. The blackberry fruit spread was the dominate flavor and I'm not sure I like that flavor paired with thyme. On a plus side, it was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Braised Balsamic Chicken

This low-fat recipe makes a delicious dinner served over rice.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States