Blackberry Balsamic Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This was pretty good, as well as fast and not having too many ingredients. I used 1 tsp dried thyme in place of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
With some minor changes (that's just me) I LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Flying Wizard
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Very easy and quick. I loved the subtle, sweet herb flavor. The chicken breast was very tender and cooked just right. The sauce (more of a glaze, actually) added a nice depth and looked great drizzled on the chicken. I used 1 tsp of dried lemon thyme in place of fresh, but followed everything else exactly. I didn't need the cornstarch, as I thought the sauce reduced quite nicely. A wonderful blend of flavors, which went very well with a nice salad and herbed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flying Wizard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Very good and a perfect weeknight option - it wasn't as complex as I would have liked, but that was more than compensated for by how fast and easy it was to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This was a great new dish! I was looking for a new chicken recipe and found this. I scaled back on the thyme a tad and ended up making more of the blackberry sauce and let it thicken a bit longer after cooking the chicken. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
1 star for flavor, there just wasn't enough for me. I tasted much more thyme than berry, and the sauce was very bland. However, i did use a no-sugar fruit spread and that could have played a big part. If you're planning on trying this recipe, be sure not to make that mistake. I had leftover chicken, but invented my own sauce the next day and was much more pleased......here's what i came up with: 1 TB balsamic vinegar, 2 TB ketchup, 1/2 cup chicken stock, 1/2 cup no-sugar berry spread, 1 1/2 tsp sugar, 1/4 tsp onion powder, 1/4 tsp garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste, 1/4 water + 1/2 TB cornstarch. As you can see, this is really not true at all to the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I am a beginner cook, and found this recipe extremely easy and delicious. I served the chicken on top of rice, with the sauce poured over it. My entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This chicken was fantastic, the only change I made was to season the chicken breasts with garlic and salt & pepper prior to browning. The sauce was a perfect blend of flavors, the balsamic did not overpower the balckberry as I thought it might. I can't wait to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MammaC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Followed exact recipe. It was ok, but I probably won't make it again. The blackberry fruit spread was the dominate flavor and I'm not sure I like that flavor paired with thyme. On a plus side, it was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Balsamic Chicken

This low-fat recipe makes a delicious dinner served over rice.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States