Blackberry BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2000
I made baby back ribs and this sauce was excellent on it. I will now use it all the time. The only thing diffent that I did is I added more blackberry jelly. I live by my sauce sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
I decided not to use this as a basting sauce but as a dipping sauce for homemade chicken strips. My husband and I both loved it! I'm definitely going to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2000
I tried this recipe despite a doubting husband, and it won him over and the family--great on ribs and also grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
HI EVERYONE! YES THIS IS MY RECIPE, BUT I FOUND IF YOU DO NOT LIKE THE SEEDS SIEVE THEM OUT OF THE JAM OR USE JELLY PRESERVES. EVERY SUMMER I MAKE MY OWN PRESERVES USING LOW SUGAR AND MORE FRUIT. PLEASE REMEMBER THAT SOME JAMS OR JELLYS MAY NOT BE AS FRUITY AS HOME MADE PRESERVES. IF YOU PREFER A HOTTER SAUCE ADD A COUPLE OF DASHES OF EITHER TABASCO SAUCE OR THAI HOT CHILE SAUCE OR CHILPOTLE HOT SAUCE. YOU MAY ADD FRESH BLACK BERRYS TO THE FINAL SAUCE THESE ARE A FEW THINGS I HAVE EXPERIMENTED WITH AND DONE TO THIS RECIPE. i AM GLAD EVERYONE LIKED IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Agassiz, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
This is GREAT. Not sweet like many BBQ sauces are.I read one review about the seeds, use seedless preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
This is an absolutaly fabulous sauce. I used a 3 berry light sugar jelly. This sauce is best for cooking with unless you cook it in a pot for a while to meld the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
Being from Memphis, BBQ sauce is a big deal. This is better than the best restaurants in town. I recently used this sauce in a Sunday School BBQ contest and it was the hands down favorite. The blackberry really gives it a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2001
I used marionberry jam in this sauce (really, they are a version of blackberries)and the seeds didn't seem to be a problem. Very yummish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2001
Excellent sauce! I used a seedless all fruit preserve and substituted 2 tsp worchestershire sauce since I didn't have any cayenne pepper. Quick, easy, poured it over chicken and let it bake. Used what I had left to brush over burgers the next day. An all time fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
Similair to my Blackberry Barbecue sauce , except I use blackberry Jelly ( no seeds), double all the amount , add 2 tablespoons of celery seeds and cook it 8-10 hours in a crockpot and store it in the fridge for future use. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Udo Rosenberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibsons, British Columbia, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States