Blackberry BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2000
I made baby back ribs and this sauce was excellent on it. I will now use it all the time. The only thing diffent that I did is I added more blackberry jelly. I live by my sauce sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
I decided not to use this as a basting sauce but as a dipping sauce for homemade chicken strips. My husband and I both loved it! I'm definitely going to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2000
I tried this recipe despite a doubting husband, and it won him over and the family--great on ribs and also grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
HI EVERYONE! YES THIS IS MY RECIPE, BUT I FOUND IF YOU DO NOT LIKE THE SEEDS SIEVE THEM OUT OF THE JAM OR USE JELLY PRESERVES. EVERY SUMMER I MAKE MY OWN PRESERVES USING LOW SUGAR AND MORE FRUIT. PLEASE REMEMBER THAT SOME JAMS OR JELLYS MAY NOT BE AS FRUITY AS HOME MADE PRESERVES. IF YOU PREFER A HOTTER SAUCE ADD A COUPLE OF DASHES OF EITHER TABASCO SAUCE OR THAI HOT CHILE SAUCE OR CHILPOTLE HOT SAUCE. YOU MAY ADD FRESH BLACK BERRYS TO THE FINAL SAUCE THESE ARE A FEW THINGS I HAVE EXPERIMENTED WITH AND DONE TO THIS RECIPE. i AM GLAD EVERYONE LIKED IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Agassiz, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
This is GREAT. Not sweet like many BBQ sauces are.I read one review about the seeds, use seedless preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
This is an absolutaly fabulous sauce. I used a 3 berry light sugar jelly. This sauce is best for cooking with unless you cook it in a pot for a while to meld the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
Being from Memphis, BBQ sauce is a big deal. This is better than the best restaurants in town. I recently used this sauce in a Sunday School BBQ contest and it was the hands down favorite. The blackberry really gives it a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2001
I used marionberry jam in this sauce (really, they are a version of blackberries)and the seeds didn't seem to be a problem. Very yummish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2001
Excellent sauce! I used a seedless all fruit preserve and substituted 2 tsp worchestershire sauce since I didn't have any cayenne pepper. Quick, easy, poured it over chicken and let it bake. Used what I had left to brush over burgers the next day. An all time fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
Similair to my Blackberry Barbecue sauce , except I use blackberry Jelly ( no seeds), double all the amount , add 2 tablespoons of celery seeds and cook it 8-10 hours in a crockpot and store it in the fridge for future use. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibsons, British Columbia, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States