Blackberry BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
I made this recipe and changed a few things about it...I did not add the brown sugar or vinegar because you have both in the ketchup, blackberry preserves and mustard. However, I used some Jalapeno Mustard and 2 drops of Haberno Sauce and then add some dried onions and fresh garlic to the recipe. I cooked it on low to mix everything together and bring the flavors together. It did not come out sweet, but had a bit of snap and zing to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
Lip smacking good! A great way to add variety into a summer full of grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
Excellent! I used fresh blackberry jam - I picked the blackberries today and took some of the juice while it was cooking up for jam. Pork ribs were among the best I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
Very tasty. I added some chopped garlic and used this on cornish game hens. Plan to use the rest for beef ribs. It is better the next day after the flavors have had time to marry and mellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
We enjoyed this BBQ sauce very much. I added some hot sauce to this for extra flavor. We used it on bone-in chicken breasts. I brushed them with oil, sprinkled Season All on them, and grilled them for 40 minutes. Then the last 10 minutes of cooking I brushed on the sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
I followed the recipe, except I heated it in a saucepan to help mix the flavors and get rid of the lumps from the preserves. Delicious as is. The only complaint I had from my guests was that I didn't double the recipe. I will definately make this again (doubled).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
I think this so-so . I do not I thinks will make it Again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
I thought this was ok, but to be fair: I'm not into bbq sauces. But my husband is another story. He totally loved this and (this is major): he wants only this bbq sauce for pork/chicken/ham/duck/turkey, and I had to stop him from eating this out of the bowl! Bye-bye Open Pit, Famous Dave's, and everything else that comes bottled in the stores. I used preserves like the recipe calls for; be sure not to use "jam" or "jelly".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
Not bad, not fantastic. The best part about the jelly was telling people that it was in there and seeing their reactions! I used a reduced sugar berry blend jelly, and it was quite good. I also used homemade ketchup, which may or may not have affected final result. I'll probably try it again with store-bought ketchup, just to see the difference. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
This sauce was excellent! My husband made it and changed the recipe a little. We skipped the brown sugar, increased the vinegar and added worcestershire sauce. This cut the sweetness a little bit. It was soooo delicious! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States