Blackberry BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Really good sauce! I did substitute 1/2 cup of the ketchup with my husbands favorite VERY spicy bottled BBQ sauce and omitted the cayenne. Normally no one else in the family can eat his sauce, but it gave a nice kick to this, that everyone enjoyed (5 stars with this change!) Cooked it about 15 minutes before basting meat to blend flavors and thicken it up. Used on ribs, would also be great on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
We LOVE this BBQ sauce. It is the only one we use anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Clayton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KIMBACUB
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
I was really nervous about making this recipe because my husband is not a big fan of sweet stuff. Well, I'm happy to say we both LOVED this! I followed the recipe exactly except that I only added 1 cup of ketchup as per other reviewers suggestions and than I added a 1/4 cup of Bull's Eye bbq sauce because I was worried it would taste to "ketchup tasting" as other reviewers said. The intersting thing about this recipe is that is tastes awesome and you would never be able to tell what it is that tastes so interesting. I had my husband brush this on chicken wings that we grilled and they reminded me of the wonderful taste of duck when they serve it with a fruit glaze/sauce. I used seedless blackberry preserves. We are having a bbq on JLu 4th and are planning on serving this! I can't wait to see peoples reactions when they ask what is in it. Thank you for a delicious recipe! Try it...you will not be disappointed. It is NOT too sweet......just YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBACUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
I love blackberries and love the idea of bberry bbq...I tried this recipe..but of course I couldn't leave it alone...I added more cayenne and mustard powder..I doubled the batch and also added two huge cloves of pressed garlic,liquid mesquite smoke and some bbq rub spice that I had. I tried it on western cut pork ribs...Outrageous..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
This recipe was way to sweet for my personal taste. Being from Texas I prefer a tangy bbq sauce. My husband however loved it. Go figure....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I did not care for the fennel flavor, as I found it to be a little too overwhelming. Maybe using an entire bulb, and substituting anise (which I think is the same thing) is behind this, but I am not sure. My family seemed to like the burgers, but they said they could not really taste much. Overall, I would not invest the time in this recipe again, nor would I use it as a base to try to come up with something better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
A very tasty sauce and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
How sweet it was. Absolutely mouth watering. Had to add a little extra (1/2 tsp) cayenne and 1/2 tsp of mustard to give it a little more zing and spice. But highly recommended for rib conosuers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
Great sauce!!! I tried this on ribs and I plan on trying it in the future on other meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WICKYWOOWOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
I made this recipe and changed a few things about it...I did not add the brown sugar or vinegar because you have both in the ketchup, blackberry preserves and mustard. However, I used some Jalapeno Mustard and 2 drops of Haberno Sauce and then add some dried onions and fresh garlic to the recipe. I cooked it on low to mix everything together and bring the flavors together. It did not come out sweet, but had a bit of snap and zing to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States