Blackberry BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Love this sauce! We add some garlic and onion powder. It's awesome on pork ribs. The sauce tastes "OK" when you first make it but, when it's grilled (or broiled I imagine) the sugar carmelizes and it becomes fruity, sticky, BBQ wonderfulness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adriayn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This was a good sauce, I was hoping for more blackberry flavor but I used sugar free blackberry jam. I don't know if I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I used Chinese five spice since I didn't have cayenne pepper to give it some spice. This worked well since it is an ingredient used in plum chicken. I cut down on the ketchup since others suggested it and was glad I did. I also added some honey as well. It turned out really well. My family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This sauce was a complete hit!! I followed the recipe as written with one exception: I had every type of berry preserve except for blackberry. So, I used up three left over jars of random berry preserves. The sauce definitely tasted too ketchupy before it was cooked, but after the ribs came out of the oven I couldn't taste the ketchup at all. I will definitely make this again, and try it with the blackberry preserves next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This bbq sauce was perfect on the beef ribs I cooked for my husband's birthday. They were sweet, tangy, and had a kick of spice at the end. I added a little more cayenne pepper and seedless blackberry jam because as written it had a little too much ketchup for my taste. Also used white wine vinegar instead of red (only because I didn't have red). I will definitely use this recipe again. Can't wait to try it on chicken! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bon vivant

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
We thought this was pretty good but I think next time I will substitute Brandy for the red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
To die for!!! I have never made home made BBQ sauce and I was so thankful that I chose this recipe to start!! It is soo delicious and the flavoring is great!! I added a few things though to give it an added kick: paprika, hot sauce, salt and pepper, real mustard (not powdered) and 2 gloves of crushed garlic. It wasn't too sweet and it added the right tang that I wanted, my boyfriend who rarely compliments me on my cooking said it was really good. Yay! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
We have been using this recipe for the past year, and it is our favorite bbq sauce. It is very versatile, and we use it for all our grilled meats and veggies. Also works great over baked chicken. I usually sub apple cider vinegar. Kids love it, hubby loves it, and even my skeptical mom enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I was excited at the thought of this recipe. I made it as others suggested with 1 C Ketchup, and BBQ sauce. I found I needed to add way more Blackberry Jam than it called for. (Maybe because it was an off brand of Jam) I ended up adding white pepper, more brown sugar, cayenne, and vinegar. I also added Jim Bean at the last minute, it added incredible depth of flavor. I gave it 4 stars, because it was unusual, and a great base to start from, to make your own flavor. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Substituted apple cider vinegar for the red wine, since that's what I had. It was tasty, but a little sweeter than I like my bbq. Next time I'll use more heat and less sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States