Blackberry BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KIMBACUB
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
I was really nervous about making this recipe because my husband is not a big fan of sweet stuff. Well, I'm happy to say we both LOVED this! I followed the recipe exactly except that I only added 1 cup of ketchup as per other reviewers suggestions and than I added a 1/4 cup of Bull's Eye bbq sauce because I was worried it would taste to "ketchup tasting" as other reviewers said. The intersting thing about this recipe is that is tastes awesome and you would never be able to tell what it is that tastes so interesting. I had my husband brush this on chicken wings that we grilled and they reminded me of the wonderful taste of duck when they serve it with a fruit glaze/sauce. I used seedless blackberry preserves. We are having a bbq on JLu 4th and are planning on serving this! I can't wait to see peoples reactions when they ask what is in it. Thank you for a delicious recipe! Try it...you will not be disappointed. It is NOT too sweet......just YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBACUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
HI EVERYONE! YES THIS IS MY RECIPE, BUT I FOUND IF YOU DO NOT LIKE THE SEEDS SIEVE THEM OUT OF THE JAM OR USE JELLY PRESERVES. EVERY SUMMER I MAKE MY OWN PRESERVES USING LOW SUGAR AND MORE FRUIT. PLEASE REMEMBER THAT SOME JAMS OR JELLYS MAY NOT BE AS FRUITY AS HOME MADE PRESERVES. IF YOU PREFER A HOTTER SAUCE ADD A COUPLE OF DASHES OF EITHER TABASCO SAUCE OR THAI HOT CHILE SAUCE OR CHILPOTLE HOT SAUCE. YOU MAY ADD FRESH BLACK BERRYS TO THE FINAL SAUCE THESE ARE A FEW THINGS I HAVE EXPERIMENTED WITH AND DONE TO THIS RECIPE. i AM GLAD EVERYONE LIKED IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Agassiz, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
My family loves this sauce. To combat the excess in ketchup, just add more preserves and we also add a little honey. This is our favorite barbeque sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
I thought this was ok, but to be fair: I'm not into bbq sauces. But my husband is another story. He totally loved this and (this is major): he wants only this bbq sauce for pork/chicken/ham/duck/turkey, and I had to stop him from eating this out of the bowl! Bye-bye Open Pit, Famous Dave's, and everything else that comes bottled in the stores. I used preserves like the recipe calls for; be sure not to use "jam" or "jelly".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
Similair to my Blackberry Barbecue sauce , except I use blackberry Jelly ( no seeds), double all the amount , add 2 tablespoons of celery seeds and cook it 8-10 hours in a crockpot and store it in the fridge for future use. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibsons, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
I used this yummy sauce with Ken Heffner's recipe for Barbecue Baby Back Ribs (on this site). What a wonderful combination! My guests are still moaning with pleasure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
Being from Memphis, BBQ sauce is a big deal. This is better than the best restaurants in town. I recently used this sauce in a Sunday School BBQ contest and it was the hands down favorite. The blackberry really gives it a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2002
We loved this! I marinated the chicken overnight in a McCormick's Mesquite marinade. We had this for a large group for July 4th, and everybody loved it. More like a treat than a main course!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This bbq sauce was perfect on the beef ribs I cooked for my husband's birthday. They were sweet, tangy, and had a kick of spice at the end. I added a little more cayenne pepper and seedless blackberry jam because as written it had a little too much ketchup for my taste. Also used white wine vinegar instead of red (only because I didn't have red). I will definitely use this recipe again. Can't wait to try it on chicken! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bon vivant

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
yummmmmy... this was sooo good. I put it on baby back ribs, and used seedless blackberry jam. It turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States