Blackberry Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Mine turned a little soupy, and I felt it a little bit lacking. Still tasted good, but not great. I may try again with a crumble topping, and add some cinnamon. It has potential to be a really great pie, but I think I may have to doctor it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
My husband really enjoyed this, but I think I'd have liked it better as an all apple or all blackberry pie. The combination of the two without any spices didn't really do it for me. A few changes I'd make if I made it again: Use 3 TB of cornstarch because you lose at least one to wetness in the bowl when mixing; add cinnamon and vanilla (in my case probably dry cinnamon and vanilla sugar, but not everyone has vanilla sugar on hand) somehow. Otherwise I thought this came out really pretty and very tasty aside from the points I already mentioned, which were not noticed by anyone but me. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. The blackberries create a nice twist for the standard apple pie. My father doesn't let me make any other kind of pie anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I have 24 pints of blackberries in the freezer and some Cameo apples needing attention so I was looking for a recipe to use both. This worked like a charm. I didn't bother with the top crust. I used a crumb topping instead. Great pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is so good - sweet and tart at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This was wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly. Used Granny Smith apples and threw in a few raspberries too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I had some apples I wanted to use up and this did just the trick! Everyone loves it! I added some pumpkin pie spice andI even forgot to put the butter in the recipe and it still tastes great...this is a wonderful, easy, summertime pie served with homeade vanilla icecream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Thought it was a good pie, but just couldn't taste the apples, only the blackberries. Was very good, but may add more apples next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This was absolutely delicious. I had some gala apples (which are not really great for pie) and some blackberries that I needed to use. The pie was wonderful and I can only imagine how good it will be with the right apples. I forgot the last step of sprinkling the crust with sugar but I didn’t miss it. I served this with some vanilla ice cream and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Very YUMMY! It was a huge hit at Christmas, I doubled it and put it in a 9x13 baker, came out perfect. I did sprinkle cinnamon/sugar over the berries before I put the pie topper on, it just adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim1975

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States