Black-eyed Peas and Ham Hocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This was great. Originally from MI it was not a yearly tradition to have black-eyed peas. I had no idea how tasty they are. My advice on this recipe is to keep this simple. I now know, I love the taste of black eyed peas so I didn't tweak this at all. The last time I made this, I doubled the recipe used a ham bone from a spiral cut ham. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Here are my suggestions: soak beans overnight in 2 tsp of baking soda (to remove gas from beans); cook ham hocks on high for 45 minutes using Chicken stock then add all ingredients; add onions and a pepper to spice it up. This is the way my mother cooked her black-eyed peas. One final note: prepare this with "Grandma's Buttermilk Cornbread" recipe and your guests will rant and rave. Thanks for sharing this comfort food recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodlyMother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Absolutely delicious and EASY. Used fresh pink eyed peas instead of dried black eyed and placed in crockpot on low over 8 hours along with 1/4 onion, chopped. Came home from work and hubby and I gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was a very good recipe it was a flavorful dish though i added 2 tsps of sugar i really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was so good! I had this with some southern friends on New Year's Eve many years ago, and thought I would try it myself. I had some left over ham from an early Easter dinner instead of hamhocks, so I started off boiling the beans in some ham stock and got them going before adding the ham. I did add some vinegar based hot sauce after reading some of the reviews. I really wish I had some cornbread to make this meal complete!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ray
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Excellent will never eat canned black eyed peas again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I made this in the slow cooker (7 hours on low). Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Yummm!! Made these for New Years Day 2010. I used 3 smallish ham hocks, 1 whole onion chopped, and about 6 cups of water with about a tablespoon of chicken base. Lot's of black pepper. Cooked on HI in the crockpot for about 2 hours then turned down to low for about 5 more. Served with cornbread. Perfect good luck meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as listed. Just cooked everything all together, nothing extra to do! I got a lot of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle womack

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham and Tomato

Sweet Virginia ham pairs perfectly with peas, tomatoes, and sautéed garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States