Black-eyed Peas and Ham Hocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I feel the added water suggestions, and they help. I would recommend soaking the peas, first of all. Lastly, who eats this with rice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This was okay. The recipe didn't say to soak the peas overnight, so I didn't. I'm wondering if perhaps I should have. It was a bit bland. . . I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
My southern husband wanted black-eyed peas on New Year's (I still don't get it, but I'm from Canada!) so I obliged him. I soaked the peas overnight, then drained and rinsed them. I diced up one pound of bacon and fried it in the pot until just shy of crispy, then I drained the grease and added six cups of water (as suggested by reviewers), the peas, a little salt, a little pepper, and three bay leaves. After cooking for about 1½ hours or so, I found the bacon to be tasteless (and I love bacon!) but the peas tasted pretty good, although our three-year old refused to touch them. This was awesome with soy sauce on it! If I try it again, I'll probably use bacon again, but I'll mix the fried bacon in with the cooked-and-drained peas just before serving. Thanks for sharing, Douet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I have searched for the Perfect Black Eyed Pea recipe each year for New Year's Day. I am not a black eyed pea eater, but my husband is and, being Southern, we have to have this every New Year's Day. I read the other reviews and adjusted the water level- I think this is a common sense issue. Just eyeball the water. When you cook beans that have been soaked, you generally boil them in fresh water that just covers the beans. Same here. Add more water as needed while they boil. I did not use as much ham, but cut it into bite size pieces before serving. I added another bay leaf and kicked up the fresh ground pepper. This dish thickens as it cools, so do not worry about it being too soupy. I did not serve it over rice, but as side dish to oven baked ribs (find the recipe on this site). Of course, there was plenty of sweet cornbread. My husband said this was my best batch of black eyed peas yet (that's 15 attempts- one for every New Year's Day we have been together). Not quite as good as his momma's, but pretty good for a Yankee born wife who doesn't eat black eyed peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Satsuma, Alabama, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This recipe was pretty good. I just fixed it in my Slow Cooker for 9 hours. I used more of the ham hock like 2 pounds and 2 pounds of smoked neck. I added much more pepper then the recipe asked for and added in addition to that about 2 teaspoons paprika, since I didn't like the original colar. It made it taste even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
With the added water, it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield Springs, New York, USA
Living In: Great Bend, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
This recipe is also good with green bean snaps thrown in. We like it best the southern way -- served with the juice over corn bread. Some hot pepper sauce (the vinegar kind) is good sprinkled on top. Is cheap, delicious and feeds a lot! Great for a covered dish event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Needs more water and I cover my pot. I also added chopped onion, a little garlic and creole seasoning. I'm from Louisiana, so the proper way to finish this is by mashing some in the pot and serve it on rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIET310

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
This need WAY more than 3 cups of water!! Try starting with 6 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham and Tomato

Sweet Virginia ham pairs perfectly with peas, tomatoes, and sautéed garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States