Black-eyed Peas and Ham Hocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Made this tonight. I read the reviews and made a few changes and saved them in a custom recipe file. This is what I added and the quantities: 8 cups water 1 pound dry black-eyed peas 1 1/2 pound smoked ham shanks salt to taste 1/2 teaspoon black pepper 2 bay leaves 1 medium onion minced 2 cloves garlic minced 1 tsp of Cajun spice 2 carrots chopped 2 Tbs cooking oil 1/4 tsp Tabasco sauce Cooked for about 3 hours. It tasted so good! Went along great with the cornbread made from this site. I'll be making this for sure on New Years day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
In my opinion, the only thing wrong with this recipe is the amount of water and cook time. I have a similar recipe from a trusted cookbook that calls for using dried beans (unsoaked)but to cook for 2 1/2 hours (a whole hour longer) AND calls for 1 1/2 quarts of water. YOu can soak if you want to cook for shorter period of time, BUT the whole point of cooking a long time is to give the pork flavor and salt a chance to penetrate the beans. I would not recommend waiting until the beans are almost cooked to add the meat (like one reviewer said she was going to do) b/c the beans will likely be flavorless; the meat may taste better but the beans and broth will be flavorless. I think the rice thing comes more from the Louisiana area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
For faster cooking time, I do mine in the pressure cooker, with lots of water. If it's for New Year's Day, I prefer using the traditional Smoked Hog Jowls, if I can find them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This recipe gave me a good jumping off point. I soaked the peas overnight for fear that they would be hard if I just boiled them out of the bag. I added 2 tsp of minced garlic, minced onion, a generous amount of salt and pepper and 8 dashes of hot sauce. This didn't make it hot at all just added the flavor it needed. The ham hocks gave it a nice flavor. I will make it again and next time I will had chunks of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I feel the added water suggestions, and they help. I would recommend soaking the peas, first of all. Lastly, who eats this with rice?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This was okay. The recipe didn't say to soak the peas overnight, so I didn't. I'm wondering if perhaps I should have. It was a bit bland. . . I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
My southern husband wanted black-eyed peas on New Year's (I still don't get it, but I'm from Canada!) so I obliged him. I soaked the peas overnight, then drained and rinsed them. I diced up one pound of bacon and fried it in the pot until just shy of crispy, then I drained the grease and added six cups of water (as suggested by reviewers), the peas, a little salt, a little pepper, and three bay leaves. After cooking for about 1½ hours or so, I found the bacon to be tasteless (and I love bacon!) but the peas tasted pretty good, although our three-year old refused to touch them. This was awesome with soy sauce on it! If I try it again, I'll probably use bacon again, but I'll mix the fried bacon in with the cooked-and-drained peas just before serving. Thanks for sharing, Douet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I have searched for the Perfect Black Eyed Pea recipe each year for New Year's Day. I am not a black eyed pea eater, but my husband is and, being Southern, we have to have this every New Year's Day. I read the other reviews and adjusted the water level- I think this is a common sense issue. Just eyeball the water. When you cook beans that have been soaked, you generally boil them in fresh water that just covers the beans. Same here. Add more water as needed while they boil. I did not use as much ham, but cut it into bite size pieces before serving. I added another bay leaf and kicked up the fresh ground pepper. This dish thickens as it cools, so do not worry about it being too soupy. I did not serve it over rice, but as side dish to oven baked ribs (find the recipe on this site). Of course, there was plenty of sweet cornbread. My husband said this was my best batch of black eyed peas yet (that's 15 attempts- one for every New Year's Day we have been together). Not quite as good as his momma's, but pretty good for a Yankee born wife who doesn't eat black eyed peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Satsuma, Alabama, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This recipe was pretty good. I just fixed it in my Slow Cooker for 9 hours. I used more of the ham hock like 2 pounds and 2 pounds of smoked neck. I added much more pepper then the recipe asked for and added in addition to that about 2 teaspoons paprika, since I didn't like the original colar. It made it taste even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
With the added water, it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield Springs, New York, USA
Living In: Great Bend, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham and Tomato

Sweet Virginia ham pairs perfectly with peas, tomatoes, and sautéed garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States