Black-eyed Peas and Ham Hocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as listed. Just cooked everything all together, nothing extra to do! I got a lot of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle womack
Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Yummm!! Made these for New Years Day 2010. I used 3 smallish ham hocks, 1 whole onion chopped, and about 6 cups of water with about a tablespoon of chicken base. Lot's of black pepper. Cooked on HI in the crockpot for about 2 hours then turned down to low for about 5 more. Served with cornbread. Perfect good luck meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I am from the deep south and on New Years day it is black eye peas,rice,steamed cabbage and go ole fried chicken. I ususally cook the dry black eye peas unless I am in the south to get some fresh ones during the summer and freeze,HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I increased the water to 8-9 cups,added minced onion and garlic powder and 1/4 -1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes. served with vinigared pepper juice. Excellent. Many requests to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Great way to flovor the peas with the ham hocks and also add a pat of butter, a dash of hot sauce, and a teaspoon of sugar. The only way people from the south eat this is with...stewed tomatoes...yummy and oh so good! Try this and you will have this dish more than once a year. Happy New Year. Lisa and Mark in Virginia Beach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Smithfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I made this in the slow cooker (7 hours on low). Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Made this tonight. I read the reviews and made a few changes and saved them in a custom recipe file. This is what I added and the quantities: 8 cups water 1 pound dry black-eyed peas 1 1/2 pound smoked ham shanks salt to taste 1/2 teaspoon black pepper 2 bay leaves 1 medium onion minced 2 cloves garlic minced 1 tsp of Cajun spice 2 carrots chopped 2 Tbs cooking oil 1/4 tsp Tabasco sauce Cooked for about 3 hours. It tasted so good! Went along great with the cornbread made from this site. I'll be making this for sure on New Years day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
In my opinion, the only thing wrong with this recipe is the amount of water and cook time. I have a similar recipe from a trusted cookbook that calls for using dried beans (unsoaked)but to cook for 2 1/2 hours (a whole hour longer) AND calls for 1 1/2 quarts of water. YOu can soak if you want to cook for shorter period of time, BUT the whole point of cooking a long time is to give the pork flavor and salt a chance to penetrate the beans. I would not recommend waiting until the beans are almost cooked to add the meat (like one reviewer said she was going to do) b/c the beans will likely be flavorless; the meat may taste better but the beans and broth will be flavorless. I think the rice thing comes more from the Louisiana area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
For faster cooking time, I do mine in the pressure cooker, with lots of water. If it's for New Year's Day, I prefer using the traditional Smoked Hog Jowls, if I can find them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This recipe gave me a good jumping off point. I soaked the peas overnight for fear that they would be hard if I just boiled them out of the bag. I added 2 tsp of minced garlic, minced onion, a generous amount of salt and pepper and 8 dashes of hot sauce. This didn't make it hot at all just added the flavor it needed. The ham hocks gave it a nice flavor. I will make it again and next time I will had chunks of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham and Tomato

Sweet Virginia ham pairs perfectly with peas, tomatoes, and sautéed garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States